MummysReviews

MIeVee @ MummysReviews.com

New to iHerb? Use coupon code EWO013 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My name is MieVee, a Stay-At-Home-Mum who loves sourcing for eco-friendly and healthy solutions for my family, especially my young children.

My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 13 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Superb value for money

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is a rescue for dry, sensitive and eczema-prone skin like mine. Many expensive moisturisers and body butters contain shea butter on top of many other ingredients including fragrances and preservatives that I’d prefer to skip. Three years ago, I read about the benefits of using raw unrefined shea butter as a face and body moisturizer — effective and low cost. It can also be used on chapped lips, dry nail cuticles and dry hair ends. Super multi-purpose. I’ve tried 4 brands of shea butter and Out of Africa is my current favourite. It’s organic, smooth, well packaged to retain freshness, and very affordable — only about SGD2.70/oz!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Light & fragrant taste

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

It tastes light and fragrant, and I use each tea bag to make 3 cups of tea. During my final preparations before delivering, I discovered that this tea was more than 70% cheaper at iHerb compared to local stores, so I grabbed 3 boxes right away. The tea bags are sealed well in plastic bags before being packaged in the cardboard box. The BEST way to stimulate milk supply is still latching baby on at least 8-12 times a day, round the clock. This tea only acts as a supplement. You may wish to seek advice from a trusted medical professional before consuming this. I got clearance from my home-visit nurse.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Keeps mozzies away from applied surfaces

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Our bedrooms are regularly infested with MANY mosquitoes. This anti-bug balm is certified organic by USDA, easy to roll on, and has been effective in keeping the mozzie away from the applied surfaces. Great for outdoor excursions to the zoo, bird park, etc. too. Baby has also been using it since newborn days. As a precaution, always read through the ingredients, and do a patch test by applying a small amount (wait for 1 day) to clear any skin allergy reaction.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

One of the best sunscreens at EWG’s Skin Deep Sunscreen Report

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

It’s extremely sunny in Singapore and Malaysia, so an effective and safe baby sunscreen is essential for excursions. Thanks to a friend, I read through EWG’s Skin Deep Sunscreen Report on the best sunscreens before deciding to ditch our previous sunscreen and switch to Badger. I need to try it a few more times before commenting on its effectiveness. So far so good -- It's whitish upon application, and the color fades off by rubbing it into the skin.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Lanolin-free & vegan

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

After every feed in the early weeks, I applied a thin layer of this soothing balm. It's very smooth and moisturising. I like that it's lanolin-free and vegan. Plus it was more than 50% cheaper than local stores.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Our Toddler Enjoys It!

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

When my boy was being weaned off breastmilk to whole milk at 14 months old, our home-visit nurse suggested supplementing with a multivitamin. After comparing several brands, we decided on Nature's Plus Source of Life Animal Parade. Our son enjoys it every morning. It tastes good enough to be taken on its own. The leakproof bottle also makes pouring it very easy and mess-free. The price from iHerb is also very reasonable, even after shipping it all the way to Singapore & Malaysia.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Multi-purpose & gentle on baby's skin

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

While searching for a basic and natural hand soap to relieve my hand eczema, I bumped into Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soaps. It ‘s mild yet effective and can be used to wash the hands, body, hair, face, toys, dishes, floor, etc.! Certified organic and certified fair trade. I dilute the concentrated liquid soap 1:1 with water and fill up recycled pump bottles, mainly as a hand and body wash. Very convenient during travels — just fill up 1 to 2 small travel bottles for washing almost anything. Our family, including baby, has tried the Unscented and Tea Tree versions. It comes in a variety of sizes; I always buy the 32 fl oz, which is cost-effective and not too heavy to manage. This soap has been specifically mentioned by Dr. Mercola as a genuine green product without “glycol ethers and phthalates found in most cleaning and laundry products”.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Bought this as a gift, SIL loves it!

Posted on Jun 26, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

My sister-in-law and I were discussing about the link between parabens and breast cancer. I started searching for a non-paraben organic deodorant spray for her at iHerb. After scouring many reviews, I decided to try buying this by Aubrey Organics. SIL loves it and says she'd consider getting more in future, even for her mum!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Leaves hair soft -- great value for money!

Posted on Jul 09, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

I've been using this conditioner with the shampoo, for more than a year. It leaves my dry and wavy hair soft. It may not be a top-notch organic conditioner, yet the price fits my family's budget. Overall, the 32 fl oz bottle is great value for money.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Much cheaper than at local supermarket

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

This is the second brand of organic brown rice cereal that baby has tried. It's much cheaper than at a local supermarket. It arrived very well-sealed with a metal foil within the tin. The taste is ok, not as naturally fragrant as 100% brown rice cereal, perhaps because of the fortification. My baby won't take this with just water added. He prefers it with expressed breastmilk and mashed purees such as apples, bananas and prunes. For a baby who eats 3-4 tablespoons of rice cereal per meal, and takes 2 meals a day, 1 such box/tin of rice cereal only lasts about 1 week. So it’s important to find the best value for money and I'm glad to find it at iHerb.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Works well for our family -- great value for money!

Posted on Jul 09, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

My family has been using this shampoo & the conditioner, for more than a year. It's gentle to my sensitive scalp, and cleans well without drying out my thin hair. It may not be a top-notch organic shampoo, yet the price fits our budget. Overall, the 32 fl oz bottle is great value for money.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Odorless & glides on easily in 1 coat

Posted on Jun 04, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

It glides on smoothly and easily in only 1 coat. And absolutely no odor, even hubby commented it! At SGD9+ per bottle, it’s very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 13 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerb® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives