Read-More-Reviews--Here

IF YOU FIND MY REVIEWS HELPFUL - PLEASE CLICK YES

New to iHerb? Use coupon code IPI026 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


Thank you for visting my page. I hope you can take a moment to read some of my reviews and perhaps find them helpful. I always check the newest reviews for products I'm interested in buying - sometimes the formula or efficacy of a product changes, or a new reviewer has info that might otherwise be missed. Some of the reviews voted most helpful are four plus years old - a lot changes in four years - ingredients, formulas, etc. I'm not a fan of mega-dosing and I don't rate every product highly - I feel it's dishonest to do so, and few things are fabulous. If something starts out great but I later find it isn't for me - I'll come back and update the review. SHIPPING - Support iHerb and use DHL option for fast Track and Trace at super low rates (3 - 4 days other side of world). REVIEWS - If you find my reviews helpful, please click the YES button. Thank you.

My Reviews

Items 13-24 of 198 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next »

CAUTION FOR ASTHMA / LOW IRON - depletes other nutrients and *causes* asthma

Posted on Nov 23, 2013

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Suggest limited/occasional use only. Vit A increases transferrin - higher doses can be detrimental to anyone low in iron, asthmatics, etc. I do not recommend vit A in this dose because it is too effective - it causes me to get breathless, in a very unpleasant way. I end up having to supplement other things to compensate (when they're normally not necessary). At this dose it's too much of a balancing act - even limited/occasional use, I find it just gets metabolised much too quickly. I want a natural vit A, however it seems impossible to find one in lower doses, especially one that isn't cod. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Dislike picolinate - avoid if issues with histamine/low DAO

Posted on Nov 10, 2013

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is the second mineral picolinate I've tried where its caused me sinus issues (rhinitis), so won't buy again. Suggest it's unsuitable for anyone with histamine issues/low DAO. I will try an amino chelate instead. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

This synthetic vit A doesn't compare to retinol from fish liver oil - Vit A is essential for gluconeogenesis and thyroid health

Posted on Feb 07, 2014

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Ever since I read a study published in The Journal of Nutrition and Disease that showed how vit A deficiency increases protein catabolism and induces urea cycle enzymes (depleting essential nutrients and compromising health), I make sure I get sufficient vit A in the form of retinol (because I find relying on carotenoids to be more miss than hit). Retinol has also been shown to regulate thyroid hormone Thyroxine (aka T4). The aforementioned study supported my experience re the saying 'eat fat to burn fat' is only true while getting sufficient vit A (and nutrients that support gluconeogenesis). At one point I was having issues with vit A from fish liver oil making me wheeze. I got this to try in case the dose in the fish liver oil was too high, because the purest fish liver oil caps are only available as 10,000iu. However - this vit A did not resolve the wheezing issue. Additionally - when I tried this one at the same 10,000iu dose as fish liver oil, it was noticeably LESS effective. It's also incredibly overpriced and I dislike that it has no allergen statements whatsoever - nothing re being soy free, wheat free, corn free, etc. I do not recommend. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Save your money - egg yolks plus niacin equals this

Posted on Mar 21, 2014

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I suggest those most likely to benefit from such a supplement are those eating a low niacin/low choline diet (e.g. vegans/strict vegetarians). The more I look into these things, the more I wonder about who is funding the studies that support these expensive, patentable supplements and why they ignore/fail to disclose information/basic nutrients required for the relevant pathways - e.g. niacin - not niacinamide or any other reduced form, but niacin as nicotinic acid. NADH/NADPH is required for close to eight hundred different reactions - including cytidine diphosphate (i.e. CDP) - taking a reduced form of niacin may be counter-intuitive (i.e. the form of niacin included in practically every multi vit). There's a con artist on every corner. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

The best copper on iHerb (note wrong expiry - should be Feb 2015)

Posted on Dec 02, 2013

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Copper works quickly - taking 3mg for one to two weeks, or less, is generally all that's needed to normalise a copper deficiency. If your health issue doesn't begin to resolve in that time - suggests the cause is unlikely to be copper. I've tried about 7 or 8 of the ones available from here. I've come back to this one and will stick with it - it definitely works, with no nasty side effects (e.g. stomach upset). I find all mineral-glycine chelates give me bad headaches and cause me to feel awful (regardless of brand/mineral) - gluconate never does (glycine is a neurotransmitter antagonist, thus glycine amino chelates won't be suitable for everyone - another example are those on a low purine diet). I didn't find succinate effective at all. Because Cu-Zyme doesn't cause stomach upset, the need to watch what you take it with is perhaps less important. If you do find it a problem, avoid taking copper with low pH food/drink. Copper is best taken on it's own - avoid taking with other supplements. The following either deplete/need copper, thus can help manipulate levels up (by reducing/avoiding) or down (by taking more of), depending on your requirements: vit C, B6, sulfur, calcium, magnesium, molybdenum, boron, zinc, dairy (penicillium/penicillamine chelates copper). If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

For making toothpaste

Posted on Oct 28, 2013

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

No nasty fillers, flavours or preservatives. This powder has the consistency of icing sugar - mixes well in water and is tasteless. I use it to make toothpaste. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Caution for aspirin allergy/low blood pressure - this one wasn't right for me

Posted on Nov 15, 2013

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Should be avoided by anyone with low blood pressure or on blood thinners and suggest caution if allergic to aspirin. I chose this one because there are no additives or fillers. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Can't go wrong with this - pure powder at a low price

Posted on Sep 17, 2013

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

You could spend forever searching for the perfect magnesium supplement - reading reviews, peer-reviewed research, etc - which is the most effective form to take? I can't answer that question for you (everyone is different, right?). However, I do want to note something I once read about magnesium - that the magnesium in food, when food is cooked, oxidises to - magnesium oxide. So while other forms might offer benefits - is it the result of the magnesium, or the organic acid it's chelated to/with? I have trialled a few different forms of magnesium and still haven't found 'one magnesium to rule them all', preferring a combination (except gluconate). If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above. There's also something for NEW customers - please don't miss out!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Effective and nothing else added

Posted on Oct 30, 2013

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I really like that it's just B12 and water. I place drops under my tongue and hold before swallowing - don't notice any taste worth noting and is also easier than putting in water. Very small bottle that fits anywhere. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Effective. Don't be put off by the cost - large bottle will last a while

Posted on Oct 30, 2013

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Don't be put off by the cost, this bottle will last a while - I'm still using the small bottle I ordered first. I found it really effective which is why I got the larger bottle, thinking I'd need it sooner. This is so effective I find I have to dilute it quite a lot or I get hyper symptoms. Recommend starting on low doses until you find your threshhold. The expiry date is eleven years away so no risk of it losing potency - though even if it did, this would still be great value. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

What a difference no fillers makes! It's hypoallergenic

Posted on Mar 21, 2014

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Most things with fillers make me wheeze - I tried different brands of taurine caps (Solgar, Source Naturals), different doses, removed contents from caps - made no difference. I don't know what 'vege' source manufacturers use for stearates etc, but anything with stearic anything makes me wheeze - it's really annoying! I tried this, and voila! NO WHEEZE. So it's either great (or completely useless, and that's why I don't wheeze - however, I'm going with the former, due to noticeable, beneficial physiological effects - not placebo). I've read (and found) that nuts and seeds are potent sulfur/taurine antagonists - anything high in B15, e.g. brown rice. This can lead to allergies (MCS), reduced insulin, issues with hair/skin/nails (including dandruff). It can also compromise selenium status (they are synergists), which can have flow on effects (e.g. low vit D - synergistic with selenium). I've also read of other nutrients that interfere with taurine synthesis - e.g. B5. Anyway - this powder is fantastic. Good value for money, and (small thing) - I like the container for it's easy access to the contents. I don't take a lot - one eighth of a teaspoon at a time - because megadosing means having to megadose other things and I'd rather not get stuck in the supplement trap. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

For lactoferrin, immune benefits - not a workout protein - good alternative to NAC

Posted on Oct 06, 2013

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I was hesitant to buy this at first - because of the cost and I do not tolerate other whey powders. However, I had no problems whatsoever with this whey. I agree with the reviewer who said this works better for them than NAC (N-Acetyl Cysteine) - I found the same to be true. I have never experienced the same benefits taking NAC as I do this whey. This whey is not a workout supplement. It is beneficial for its lactoferrin, immunoglobulins and serum albumin content. The serving size is not that big - at only one scoop, this is more affordable than it seems at first (sixty servings per container). If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 13-24 of 198 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next »

}

iHerb® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives