Read-More-Reviews--Here

IF YOU FIND MY REVIEWS HELPFUL - PLEASE CLICK YES

New to iHerb? Use coupon code IPI026 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


Thank you for visting my page. I hope you can take a moment to read some of my reviews and perhaps find them helpful. I always check the newest reviews for products I'm interested in buying - sometimes the formula or efficacy of a product changes, or a new reviewer has info that might otherwise be missed. Some of the reviews voted most helpful are four plus years old - a lot changes in four years - ingredients, formulas, etc. I'm not a fan of mega-dosing and I don't rate every product highly - I feel it's dishonest to do so, and few things are fabulous. If something starts out great but I later find it isn't for me - I'll come back and update the review. SHIPPING - Support iHerb and use DHL option for fast Track and Trace at super low rates (3 - 4 days other side of world). REVIEWS - If you find my reviews helpful, please click the YES button. Thank you.

My Reviews

Items 37-48 of 198 total

« Previous | 2 3 4 5 6 | Next »

Ingredients have changed - beware - this is no longer hypoallergenic

Posted on Feb 27, 2014

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This only had TWO ingredients before - the rice isolate and brown rice syrup solids - which is why I used to buy it! Now there's almost a party with Mr 'organic gum arabic' and Mr 'organic sunflower oil' as well. Gum arabic and sunflower oil are NOT hypoallergenic (nor are they needed). Another product ruined. Anyone looking for a hypoallergenic rice protein that mixes well etc, I recommend NutriBiotic Organic Rice Protein (plain). For those who choose to use this rice protein - it (used to) mix well in a shaker cup, though expecting the same texture as whey will require adjustment. While it does mix well, it does have a slightly gritty texture that is typical of rice protein. It was one of the least gritty I'd tried, on par with Nutribiotic. It's also definitely not the quicksand texture or sludge that's typical of soy/pea protein powder. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

TERRIBLE for asthma - aggravator of immune system - antagonist of B12, magnesium, manganese, copper

Posted on Jan 11, 2014

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Simply put - I believe this dose of biotin is too high, and here are some reasons to support why I say that. Many women develop chronic fatigue syndrome, multiple chemical sensitivity, or hormonal disorders, often after trying different things in an attempt to lose weight or otherwise improve their appearance (e.g. hair, skin, nails). Biotin may initially work for many people because they're lacking nutrients (e.g. sulfur, also essential for collagen). Others may have high levels of minerals such as manganese, copper - high levels can be caused by a lack of synergists. At 'normal' levels, biotin is a manganese synergist - however, high doses over time will deplete manganese, and (like everything) there's a point where reduced manganese becomes a bad thing - manganese is essential for gluconeogenesis, mitochondrial superoxide dismutase and thyroid function. High doses of biotin can also contribute to a B12 deficiency (refer odd-chain fatty acid oxidation), or copper deficiency (sulfur antagonises copper). These are things to be mindful of when supplementing high doses of biotin over time, especially if diet is imbalanced. I do not recommend biotin for anyone who is not eating optimally, has an immune system disorder or who takes/does things that upregulate gluconeogenesis (e.g. asthma steroids), ESPECIALLY if not also supporting increased gluconeogenesis with a correspponding increase in co-factors and non-carbohydrate food sources. ADDITIONALLY - (1) At high doses, sulfur affects the central nervous system, provoking an INFLAMMATORY response; (2) Hair/skin/nail conditions (i.e. collagen) can also be caused by low copper - more sulfur (i.e. biotin), vit C etc, will not help - both are copper antagonists at high doses. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

If it wasn't for the calcium silicate, this would be OK

Posted on Feb 19, 2014

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

In the country I was born in - salt is iodised with IODATE, which is toxic rubbish. I'm used to sea salt so incorporating it would not be a huge change for me. The taste of this salt is much nicer than regular table salt. HOWEVER - calcium silicate is NOT hypoallergenic and causes wheezing. I understand the need for an anti-caking agent, but even magnesium carbonate would have been a better choice Hain?! If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

High-dose B6 is NOT a long-term strategy for optimum/sustainable health

Posted on Feb 10, 2014

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I was having issues with NON-coenzymated B6 causing wheezing, headaches and moodiness among other things - regardless of the brand/dose or whatever else I was/wasn't eating/taking. So I thought I'd give coenzymated B6 a try given the number of glowing reviews and good press it receives within the health/nutrition community. However - I had the same issues with half a tablet of this coenzymated B6. B6 is an antagonist of IODINE, SODIUM, MANGANESE, SILICA and COPPER - low levels of these essential nutrients can cause wheezing, headaches and other problems such as hyper/hypothyroidism, hair loss, etc etc. Over time B6 will also raise magnesium which may not be beneficial - magnesium antagonises iodine, silica, manganese, cobalt, sodium, etc. Adding more of these nutrients won't correct the issue. B6 is also an inhibitor of 5-alpha reductase, which can be an issue when activity of this enzyme is low, e.g. other nutrients that also inhibit this enzyme include alpha-linolenic acid, oleic acid, linoleic acid, B2, zinc (think hormonal disorders, hair loss). After some positive results, I did take B6 in the past (in combo with other vit B's) - not excessive doses and not for long periods of time either. However, after struggling to correct the imbalances it caused, I do not recommend it as a long-term strategy for anyone, regardless of issue/reason for taking it - it's simply not designed for long-term use at mega-doses (by mega-dose I mean anything above 10mg per day). If B6 works for you I strongly suggest looking into why rather than continuing long-term use - e.g. if it helps with water retention or hormonal issues, look at other nutrients or areas of diet that might be disrupting these. While B6 might seem like a heaven-sent quick-fix, I'd hate for anyone to go through the same as me after taking B6 for any period of time. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Effective and affordable

Posted on Oct 30, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I didn't have any issues with asthma when taking this, though suggest caution if you have asthma - always read labels. I chose this one because it doesn't have added stearate, silica, phosphate etc - minimal added junk. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Found this folinic acid better than methylfolate

Posted on Jan 20, 2014

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Having tried both methylfolate and this, I found this gave me better results. The downsides re this product for me - the fact it's liquid and is 400mcg in one drop, meaning it's impossible to take a smaller dose. I'd prefer a 100 or 200mcg dose, because I find the full RDI in ANY form too much in one go (and dislike how that results in having to take other vitamins/minerals to compensate). That said, I'd still buy this again because it's good value for money and there's no tablet/capsule binders. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Active form of B5

Posted on Apr 24, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Good for liver, cholesterol health and supposed to be good for joints as well. Caplets are not too big, therefore easy to swallow. I would prefer a 50mg caplet but all manufacturers seem to mega dose B5. I half these and would prefer to half them again, however that's a bit too fiddly and the caplet might fall apart, so I just take the 150mg every second or third day. I read this form of B5 is less stable, decomposing over time if not kept refrigerated, so I keep mine in the fridge. One of the few source naturals tablets that doesn't contain dicalcium phosphate.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Too much added cobalamin - ruins it

Posted on Oct 24, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Would prefer no added cobalamin so that I could take the 3 tablet serving size and benefit from the liver itself. I find the amount of cobalamin in one tablet too energising on an ongoing basis, not to mention that it can deplete other things. Defeats the benefits. Would also prefer liver that is not defatted. With no added cobalamin I believe this could be a quality product. The tablets are not too large - easy to cut/crush if you prefer. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Prefer niacin (not niacinamide) - 500mg too much in one dose

Posted on Oct 30, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I also tried 250mg but that was too much as well - left my head feeling full of fog, bordering on a headache. I get better results all round from small doses of niacin and therefore prefer it - doesn't knock me out nor do I get the fog-ache. What I did like about this one is that it doesn't contain anything else - no fillers is rare. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Immune system didn't like it

Posted on Nov 30, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

My immune system doesn't like any of the Enzymedica products, including this one. However - of the four or five products I've tried, this affected me least negatively and I did find benefit from it at first. I might look at it again in future, though it's expensive. I like that it has no fillers. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

High dose B6 is toxic - especially long term use

Posted on Dec 24, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

It's water soluble so you'll excrete it quickly, correct? Perhaps so. However - it can take much longer to correct any imbalance caused. I'll never take B6 in high doses again, not even short term. Many things mention that B6 is the asthma vitamin. From my experience - it's not. B6 is an iodine antagonist and a sodium antagonist. Low iodine will make you wheeze. Low sodium will make you wheeze. Long term use of high doses of B6 (50mg is a high dose) can lead to hypothyroidism. Because B6 is a sodium antagonist, it can disrupt electrolyte balance, especially if sodium is low. Short term, B6 is an iodine (and sodium) synergist - thus many people might initially experience a good result from taking more B6. However - short term can be very short if iodine or sodium are low. Taking more iodine/sodium will not necessarily correct an imbalance until the B6 is stopped. High doses of B6 will also deplete minerals such as manganese - essential for thyroid function and mitochondrial superoxide dismutase (chronic fatigue anyone?), among other things. Low manganese will result in reduced thyroid hormone. However - manganese is very estrogenic and high manganese can also cause hypothyroidism. Short term use of B6 can help lower manganese - but I still don't recommend going that route. I initally bought this B6 because it had the least added fluff, was a good price and I liked that it's only 50mg. However - I've learnt that 50mg is way too much B6. I also dislike the added mag stearate and wonder why NF can't just use cellulose as per their 100mg Niacin tabs. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Not a gluconate fan

Posted on Oct 19, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I ended up trying to flush this stuff down the drain - it turned into a brick that I had to break up like a chunk of ice before it would go down. Though I appreciate no one is going to take that much at once, still interesting to consider. If this review was helpful to you, please click YES below - thank you. For reviews of all the products I have purchased from iHerb, please click my username above.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 37-48 of 198 total

« Previous | 2 3 4 5 6 | Next »

}

iHerb® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives