Reviewer1135456

New to iHerb? Use coupon code MIR542 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 13 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Feed your bones and brain

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

14 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

You need Vitamin D to absorb calcium. People who avoid the sun, use sunscreen, or have dark skin are particularly vulnerable to D deficiency, which can lead to osteoporosis and depression (especially Seasonal Affective Disorder in northern climates.) You can overdose on D -- it doesn't dissolve in water and can be stored in body fat -- but not at this level. One a day is enough.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Get that blood moving

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Citrulline is an amino acid that stimulates blood flow -- good for people with poor circulation. Along with nattokinase, I use it to avoid blood clots and popsicle feet.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

The don't call it B-complex for nothing

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

A deficiency in Vitamin B-6 can cause nerve symptoms that mimic carpal tunnel syndrome, and can also be a cause of depression. You shouldn't take a single B vitamin alone for long; if you need one, you need them all. They work together. What fixed my wrist pain was 100 mg of B-6, but I take the whole complex to avoid trouble. Anything left over is excreted in the urine. I don't mind having expensive urine if my wrist doesn't hurt.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Restless legs?

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This amino acid is the precursor to the brain chemical dopamine which, among other nice things it does, relieves muscle jerks and tremors. I use it for restless leg syndrome; my spouse uses it for essential tremor. Not a cure, but helpful -- and it's something the body is already familiar with, so it's not like taking a synthetic drug.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

A boost for your body's tiny power plants

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This amino acid provides support to your mitochondria -- the tiny power plant in every cell. An energy booster, works best with CoQ10.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Lutein

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Lutein is part of a natural treatment for macular degeneration. In this case the retina specialist recommended it, in combination with bilberry. The goal is to retard the progression of macular degeneration, not to cure it. I have every confidence in the quality of any product from Now Foods.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Eye health

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Bilberry is an herb credited with improving eye health. It's used in combination with lutein to slow the progression of macular degeneration, an eye disease that eventually leads to blindness.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great product, great price

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This brand of CoQ10, an antioxidant, is much better priced than most. An excellent buy for a valuable nutrient.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Goodbye DVT

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

This enzyme helps protect against deep vein thrombosis (blood clot) by making the platelets less sticky. Having a DVT is an experience I don't want to repeat, and nattokinase is part of my strategy. I could take warfarin (Coumadin - it's used as rat poison; rats that ingest it bleed to death) but I like to do things non-medically where possible. I'm careful not to run out of natto. Works extra well with L-Citrulline.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Good for some uses, not for others

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

Stevia extract is fine for sweetening things like tea, but where bulk is required, as in baking, it won't work. People who detect a bitter aftertaste in liquid stevia are probably using too much. It takes experimentation, starting with less than you think you'll need. I tried growing the plant and making my own extract, but found it less expensive to buy it.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Down with free radicals (molecules, not people)

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

Vitamins A, C, E, and the mineral selenium are the basic antioxidants, helping avoid damage to cells that can lead to malignancies. Taking this is basic good sense.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Get your fiber here

Posted on Mar 30, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

I feel best on a very low-carbohydrate diet, but that makes it hard to get fiber. Here's my solution. Take it with a full glass of water. Experiment to see how many caps you need. You'll be able to tell.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 13 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives