Reviewer1145738

New to iHerb? Use coupon code UWU132 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 13 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Easy and effective but the note the specifics of the low dosage

Posted on Jun 20, 2011

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

These seem to work well. I couldn't decide between the orange and peppermint, so I tried both. I prefer the peppermint - orange, despite having allegedly only natural flavors added, still tastes a bit synthetic to me, almost like Dramamine, and didn't make a great follow up to just-brushed teeth. But both flavors are pleasant, and I love the sublingual option; it was recommended by Dr. Weil as the best method of intake. These ease me into sleep fairly soon after taking them. Also, I had planned to start on this smallest dosage and work up to 3mg, but I find I don't need to change. However, my sleep problems are fairly specific - if you have similar criteria, these may be the best option for you as well. "Traditional" sleeping pills like Unisom and Ambien leave me groggy and I hate that "knocked out" feeling (although I have friends who find they get more satisfying sleep when "drugged" - to each her own). I did a lot of research and decided to take this particular product for a few distinct reasons. 1) They are melatonin only. I have allergies and found that some herbal sleep formulas ironically made me more alert due to irritation from included plants like chamomile. I also wanted the antioxidant benefit of melatonin. 2) For use during cross-country and some int'l flights. I like that these put me to sleep but allow me to wake up fairly easily, such as when we're landing or there is meal service. It makes me uncomfortable to be completely "out" while traveling. Also, some red eyes are only 5-6 hours and don't warrant sleeping longer. 3) Help with jetlag - I use these to adjust to new time zones but typically am not on a schedule where I have the luxury of the full 8-9 hours required by more potent pills. 4) I work inconsistent hours and have insomnia, but often don't notice the need to take a sleeping pill until I've been tossing and turning and it's too late to take a stronger version. 5) You can take more or less pills depending on your sleep situation at that moment (see above...) I trust Source Naturals and have found success with these. Plus they are easy to take and relatively inexpensive. I'm still experimenting with dosage but I will absolutely buy these again in some variety.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Inexpensive but potent

Posted on Jun 20, 2011

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I am happy with these. They are large softgels (about an inch long!) but I've never had any problem swallowing them. GLA takes at least 8 weeks to kick in and I haven't been taking these for that long, so I can't vouch for the long term efficacy just yet (and don't worry: this isn't a cop out - I get frustrated by reviews that prematurely give poor ratings too). But I will say that my allergies and eczema have been reduced since I started including this Borage supplement in my daily routine. The Now brand isn't always my first choice, but I know I can rely on them for a cost effective product, and this dosage seems particularly potent.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Easy and effective if you like the low dosage

Posted on Jun 20, 2011

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

PLEASE NOTE: this is the same review I wrote for the orange flavor - I ordered both as I couldn't decide between them. I prefer the peppermint and found the efficacy to be similar. Although peppermint might have the added benefits of calming the digestive system and mixing a little better with recently brushed teeth, it's really just a taste issue. These seem to work well. I love the sublingual option; it was recommended by Dr. Weil as the best method of intake. These ease me into sleep fairly soon after taking them. Also, I had planned to start on this smallest dosage and work up to 3mg, but I find I don't need to change. However, my sleep problems are fairly specific - if you have similar criteria, these may be the best option for you as well. "Traditional" sleeping pills like Unisom and Ambien leave me groggy and I hate that "knocked out" feeling (although I have friends who find they get more satisfying sleep when "drugged" - to each her own). I did a lot of research and decided to take this particular product for a few distinct reasons. 1) They are melatonin only. I have allergies and found that some herbal sleep formulas ironically made me more alert due to irritation from included plants like chamomile. I also wanted the antioxidant benefit of melatonin. 2) For use during cross-country and some int'l flights. I like that these put me to sleep but allow me to wake up fairly easily, such as when we're landing or there is meal service. It makes me uncomfortable to be completely "out" while traveling. Also, some red eyes are only 5-6 hours and don't warrant sleeping longer. 3) Help with jetlag - I use these to adjust to new time zones but typically am not on a schedule where I have the luxury of the full 8-9 hours required by more potent pills. 4) I work inconsistent hours and have insomnia, but often don't notice the need to take a sleeping pill until I've been tossing and turning and it's too late to take a stronger version. 5) You can take more or less pills depending on your sleep situation at that moment (see above...) I trust Source Naturals and have found success with these. Plus they are easy to take and relatively inexpensive. I'm still experimenting with dosage but I will absolutely buy these again in some variety.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Better than Q-Tips

Posted on Oct 04, 2010

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I was skeptical that these wouldn't work as well as my usual name brand swab, but wanted to try something without bleach and chemicals. Since I use cotton swabs daily, I wasn't willing to sacrifice function just for the sake of organic, especially since cotton swab quality can vary so dramatically (cheapo plastic sticks with barely any cotton, anyone? Yuck). These are just as good as the Q-Tips I used to fly through, and better for not only skin but the environment as well. Organic Essentials/Swisspers (I don't see any difference in the product since the name change and I have purchased both packages) is now a staple in my bathroom. for tons of uses and started to worry about chemicals

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Delicious but strong

Posted on Jun 20, 2011

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I was hesitant to buy this because of the price, but the great reviews and organic, quality ingredients convinced me. I am happy with this purchase, but be aware: the flavor is so pronounced that it overpowers recipes. I can't believe that's a negative really, but it makes a difference. For example, I added it to a homemade stirfry sauce (ginger, honey, Ohsawa, sesame oil, a bit or sriracha), and all I could taste was this salty soy flavor. Granted, it was delicious, but I've made this same stirfry many times and usually cheaper soy sauces blend in more. I will repurchase, but use this more sparingly, or save it for instances when soy sauce only is called for, such as sushi.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Not bad as a mixer, but tough on its own

Posted on Jun 20, 2011

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I'm glad this was free. I actually don't mind the taste when added to smoothies, and I trust that Madre Labs actually has the nutrition it claims. But when I mixed it with plain water (as suggested on the package), I expected something similar to EmergenC, or possibly a Crystal Light type drink. This wasn't even close - just a weirdly tasting, clumpy mess. I added more water and kept stirring but that just made the flavor weak. I have liked the other versions and will probably still add this to my future iherb orders as a freebie, but will skip ordering separately.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Packs a punch

Posted on Oct 04, 2010

Purchased at iHerb

I use these to supplement straight Lysine HCI 500 mg capsules. While I take those daily, I save these for days when I start to feel sick and may get a cold (or cold sore!) coming on. I like that these are smaller doses so I can get a steady stream of the vitamins in my system, and they don't upset my stomach. Plus, the zinc and Vitamin C help speed recovery. A great, high quality, reasonably priced product - I did a ton of research prior to settling on these, and find them to be indispensable, especially when traveling, and have repurchased several times.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Well formulated and easy to take

Posted on Nov 13, 2009

Purchased at iHerb

Yes, these pills are on the large side and a bit chalky, but I've been taking Dr.Weil's brand for years and had no problem swallowing these. I appreciate the high dose of calcium per pill, the fact that this contains the more easily absorbed calcium citrate, and that it's balanced with magnesium in a 2-1 ratio. I've had other calcium supplements where you're supposed to take as many as 6/day. I love the fact that I can just take one or two of these daily and be covered.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great product, but not convinced

Posted on Nov 13, 2009

Purchased at iHerb

I love this eye cream. It goes on smoothly, absorbs quickly, yet isn't so emollient that it makes my eye makeup smear all over. I've had moisturizers that I relegated to nighttime use only because they were so slick that I looked like a raccoon by the end of the day. I put Shikai to the test and it works beautifully day or night (although note: this doesn't contain sunscreen, so if you use it in the morning, be sure to get SPF from another product). I also have very sensitive eyes from LASIK and this product did not irritate at all. In fact, it's light but still feels effective (at moisturizing) and soothing. I can't claim it reduces wrinkles or eliminates dark circles, but I'm firmly in the camp that no eye cream can. And this definitely improved skintone and made my skin softer, without the glitter and gimmicks of other eye creams out there. The only thing that makes me hesitate to repurchase this exact formulation is the price. I have and use the complete line of Borage Therapy lotions, and according to the ingredients list, the eye cream isn't much different from the facial lotion, which barely differs from the body lotion and hand cream. But this is a measly 0.5 oz tube for more than the cost of the 8 oz pump size! I ultimately decided to try the eye cream, despite the rip-off potential, because it comes in a travel-friendly, easy-to-apply sanitary tube, and because it's the only product in the line that contains cucumber extract, which seemed like it could be beneficial (or a really good advertising ploy!). Plus, the price itself is actually not bad for an eye cream, especially when purchased from iherb, and if there were no other Shikai Borage options, I would be devoted to this. But I can't shake the feeling that I could just use the lotion with the same results... Bottom line: I can honestly say that I'm very happy with Shikai Borage Dry Skin Therapy Eye Cream, but will have to experiment using the other versions before I commit to this.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

In a pinch...

Posted on Oct 04, 2010

Purchased at iHerb

I am a demanding (some might say snobby) coffee consumer, and I like my coffee to be dark and strong. I honestly didn't expect much from this packet of instant, but I figured I'd keep it on hand for days when I was desperate and/or felt like I needed a more mellow flavor. I am a big fan of medicinal mushrooms as well, so the combination was perfect. The coffee is acceptable. It's weak, although to Madre Labs' credit, they do mention to use less water for an "espresso" type drink. Espresso may be pushing it, especially when that means adding only 4oz or so of water per packet. But the flavor was better than anticipated, and the strength was decent when I followed the "espresso" directions. I had a cup when I was feeling run down, hoping that the mushrooms would help, and I did feel better afterwards - no jittery feeling, but pleasant coffee drinking experience. It does have that "instant" taste to it (reminds me of the Nescafe tube packets in Australia), so I can't claim it compares to using, say, a French press. But I won't drink terrible coffee and I had no problems enjoying a (small) cup of this. I don't think I'll buy Cafeceps again, but you could definitely do worse in a pinch. Much better than gas station brew, and at least you're getting Cordyceps and supporting organic...

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

In a pinch...

Posted on Dec 08, 2011

Purchased at iHerb

I am a demanding (some might say snobby) coffee consumer, and I like my coffee to be dark and strong. I honestly didn't expect much from this packet of instant, but I figured I'd keep it on hand for days when I was desperate and/or felt like I needed a more mellow flavor. I am a big fan of medicinal mushrooms as well, so the combination was perfect. The coffee is acceptable. It's weak, although to Madre Labs' credit, they do mention to use less water for an "espresso" type drink. Espresso may be pushing it, especially when that means adding only 4oz or so of water per packet. But the flavor was better than anticipated, and the strength was decent when I followed the "espresso" directions. I had a cup when I was feeling run down, hoping that the mushrooms would help, and I did feel better afterwards - no jittery feeling, but pleasant coffee drinking experience. It does have that "instant" taste to it (reminds me of the Nescafe tube packets in Australia), so I can't claim it compares to using, say, a French press. But I won't drink terrible coffee and I had no problems enjoying a (small) cup of this. I don't think I'll buy Cafeceps again, but you could definitely do worse in a pinch. Much better than gas station brew, and at least you're getting Cordyceps and supporting organic...

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Not bad as a mixer, but tough on its own

Posted on Jun 20, 2011

Purchased at iHerb

I'm glad this was free. I actually don't mind the taste when added to smoothies, and I trust that Madre Labs actually has the nutrition it claims. But when I mixed it with plain water (as suggested on the package), I expected something similar to EmergenC, or possibly a Crystal Light type drink. This wasn't even close - just a weirdly tasting, clumpy mess. I added more water and kept stirring but that just made the flavor weak. I have liked the other versions and will probably still add this to my future iherb orders as a freebie, but will skip ordering separately.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 13 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives