July Special - Free International Shipping for orders over $40.00!

Reviewer1425851

New to iHerb? Use coupon code JER034 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-10 of 10 total

This product Is The Most Cost Effective Tableted Yerba Mate Supplement

Posted on Mar 04, 2008

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I am more interested in the methylxanthine coctail and Mao-B inhibiting chemicals in Yerba Mate, then it's potential as an antioxidant. This preparation, having 48mg of caffeine per pill, is pleasantly stimulating. Pay attention to how you respond to various dosage levels over time. Less caffeine with this preparation than with a pure caffeine pill is required to cause agitation and dysphoric panic. The same thing can happen to people who take more Mao-B inhibiting medication than they ought to, like l-deprenyl. Another possibility is that there is a clinically significant amount of theophylline in this preparation synergizing with the other ingredients.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

An alternative To Benzodiazepines

Posted on Sep 02, 2008

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I'm not sure which alkaloids in Kudzu account for its calming effects, but they are certainly strong. 3-6 tablets seems to compare well with 0.25mg of Xanax, which isn't bad for a plant extract. It feels a little bit more sedating than Xanax, while less hypnotic. If you're feeling stressed and angry, then this'll help take the edge off it, and allow you to come to terms with the cause. Apparently, Kudzu is also quite nutritious.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Healthiest Form of Yerba Mate

Posted on Apr 03, 2010

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This Yerba Mate grind is uncured, similar to white tea and certain green teas. It's the best, and I recommend that Yerba lovers put a teaspoon per 8oz in boiling water. Allow it to sit until it's cool enough not to burn your oral mucosa tissue (yerba + burning hot water = oral cancers in some studies). Then you can drink it Usually, Yerba is cured over a wood fire, causing a moderate amount of carcinogenic nitrosamines to leech into the final tea product. This isn't good. Furthermore, the taste of uncured Yerba is superior in my opinion. It's sweeter and less bitter. Yerba is theoretically a good adjunct those trying to use nicotine replacement products to quick smoking. Yerba Mate may inhibt MAO-B enzymes, which is part of what gives tobacco smoke additional euphoriant properties (with concomitant withdrawal effects) beyond nicotine alone. MAO-B partial inhibition may or may not be pleasant for typical drinkers. It, can cause agitation in some people.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Do not purchase for anxiety relief

Posted on Dec 14, 2008

17 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

GABA does not cross the blood-brain barrier. Supplementing with l-glutamine provides the brain with the raw materials it needs to synthesize GABA and glutamate. GABA in this form depresses the respiratory system and mildly relaxes muscles, which may make it a "shotgun" treatment for people experiencing sympathetic overarousal like high blood pressure, muscle tension, and a rapid heartbeat. Dont expect this to act like a perscription muscle relaxant; it's only really effective for treating neuro-muscular seizures. If taken in large, multi-gram amounts I can guarantee you that you will fear for your safety. It will suppress your ability to breath and remind you of those stories regarding opiate overdoses.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Brilliant formulation of 5-htp, limits gastrointenstinal side-effects and short half-life

Posted on Dec 14, 2008

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

5-htp is a rather expensive way to boost brain serotonin levels in this age of $4.00 copay SSRI meds. Of course, those meds rely on your body synthesizing enough serotonin to work with. Turns out that a sizable minority (~30%) of Europeans don't properly absorb l-tryptophan, so that can't bode well for mood. L-tryptophan is even more expensive than 5-htp, and more is needed to get the same amount of serotonin than from 5-htp. The problem with many 5-htp supplements is that they irritate the stomach. The stomach converts some of it locally into serotonin, which causes gastric contractions. Either that Natural Factors enteric coated product or this one is needed to allow this medication to break down in the small intestine rather than the stomach. Natrol's formulation probably delays the release of 5-htps until the pill reaches the small intestine. In addition, it may have a more even time release mechanism than the enteric coating on the Natural Factors product. I take 200mg before bed, and 100mg in the morning if needed. It's rather calming, and subtle. It is synergistic with Rhodiola Rosea, which acts as a natural COMT inhibitor (like Carbidopa, a perscription med) and helps prevent 5-htp from converting into serotonin peripherally rather than cerebrally.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Most cost effective source of raw herbal red ginseng internet-wide

Posted on Oct 26, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I've scoured online vendors looking for where to find the cheapest low grade ginseng roots, powdered or whole. I can't find another vendor of raw roots that sells 162 grams (5.785 oz) for $22.39. That considered, I was hoping the effects of this indicated that it was decently preserved ginseng. I'm certainly not disappointed with the stimulation I'm currently feeling. I find it no less powerful serving-for-serving than any standardized extract...may even be more potent than others I've tried (N.O.W's older 5% standardized felt like it was adulterated with mandrake root, Natural Factors one didn't seem efficacious at such a low dose of even 7%). It's more of a general adrenal uplift than a classic stimulant, which is fine by me. If you're sensitive to stimulants, one tablet will probably do you good. Me on the other hand....I'll probably end up averaging 4-8 per day :-D.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Darn placebo effect, this product is inert. Tried 2 separate batches.

Posted on Jul 28, 2008

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Considering that this product is an extract, I expected more from it than raw, powdered herb. All I get from this as well as a liquid extract from another brand, is headaches and higher blood pressure similar to tyramine. I suspect that some of the constituents are destroyed in the usual extraction process. This experience makes me really tempted to buy raw, ground up herbs instead for cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Tolerance issues

Posted on Dec 14, 2008

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I realize that this substance will cease to have a noticeable effect after a week of consistent, once-daily dosing. So, I was probably wrong about this supplement's inertness. The good thing is that at least the gastrointestinal side effects disappear. If you try taking 16mg, it will case mild bradycardia, so be aware of that if you feel you need to push the dose up that high. Hmm, what else...if you want to augment its effects I'd recommend one of the adaptogens like eleuthero, rhodiola, ginseng, muira puama, or perhaps maca. Eleuthero seems to work best in combination for me. And of course, caffeine helps too.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

This Liquid Extract Only Seems To Raise Blood Pressure

Posted on Sep 02, 2008

2 people found the following review helpful

I bought this product from another vendor before iherb started carrying it. Like the Nature's Answer liquid extract, this one is inert with respect to the effects I expected to get from it. It doesn't seem to act like a cognitive stimulant, and no preparation of muira puama seems to have any effect on sexual performance. I find it strange that liquid extracts seem to do nothing but increase blood pressure, in the form of headaches. Buy the herb in whole, dry form, even if certain alkaloids don't get released from the plant matter. I imagine that the good alkaloids are destroyed in the extraction proccess, while the pressor-causing ones are concentrated.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Best Protein Supplement on Earth

Posted on Feb 06, 2010

Purchased at iHerb

This protein combines many types of protein into one unflavored product. It tastes a bit like milk and soy lecithin. it's a slightly savory, mild flavor that I can add to water and drink without difficulty. The fact that there's casein in there is even better, as it metabolizes into casomorphins that are great for sleep and mood, although it can impair cognition somewhat. Casein has the additional benefits of preventing muscles from atrophying, and of being released over a long period of time. Great also for when there's to be a long time before the next meal.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-10 of 10 total

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives