Reviewer1715865

New to iHerb? Use coupon code HAN890 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 14 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

A Super Product for Inflammation!

Posted on Jan 11, 2013

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I've been taking Astaxanthin off and on for a couple years now, but just in the 4-mg dosage. I didn't notice anything particularly remarkable about it and basically just took it on faith that it was doing something positive for me. A few months ago, however, I stumbled upon this 12-mg dosage and decided to give it a try. Like a previous reviewer here reported, I noticed that after a week or two, my chronic lower back pain (mild sciatica) was nearly gone. At the time, I attributed my improvement to some stretching and flexing exercises I had been doing, not even considering that it could be the anti-inflammatory effect of the 12-mg Astaxanthin I'd been taking. Then the bottle ran out and, coincidentally, within a few days, the chronic low back pain returned. I'm glad I had read the other reviewer's experience regarding the Astaxanthin and his/her mysteriously vanishing lower back pain, as I don't think I would have otherwise made the connection. On the chance that I was experiencing the same thing, I quickly ordered another bottle and resumed taking it as soon as it came. Sure enough, within a couple days, the lower back pain was gone again. This stuff is incredible! It seems the key is the dosage~ 4 mg didn't seem to do much for me, while 12 mg has had a very noticeable anti-inflammatory effect. Perhaps also it is the brand~ Nutrex may be superior to the other brands I was taking. Apparently this stuff is good for preventing sunburn too. In my experience it has worked even better than Zyflammend, which is a great anti-inflammatory supplement in its own right with many satisfied customers.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Mercola Organic Matcha Green Tea

Posted on Apr 17, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Dr. Mercola did well when he sourced and endorsed this product! This is a really high-quality, great-tasting organic, shade-grown Matcha ~ don't hesitate to buy! Unlike some other brands sold here, Mercola's Matcha retains its bright green color for quite a while after brewing, indicating a high antioxidant (polyphenol) content. The taste is excellent too. And yes, it's more expensive than the other brands, but this is one case where you definitely get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

The BEST Chlorella on the market!

Posted on Apr 28, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Chlorella is a very powerful detoxifier with the ability to attract and bind toxins from whatever it comes into contact with. Often people don't realize that this includes not only the toxins in their bodies (once it is ingested), but also the environment in which chlorella is grown. As such, it is very important to know the source of the chlorella which you are putting into your body, and to make sure it is not already "pre-contaminated" with pollutants from its origin environment. Many brands of chlorella on the market today contain fair amounts of heavy metals and other pollutants~ the very things we're trying to rid our bodies of when we take chlorella! By contrast, according to its website, HealthForce's Chorella Manna is grown in indoor tanks under tightly controlled conditions, ensuring a pure, high-quality, contaminant-free product. It has also been tested for purity and guaranteed free of radiation~ very important in this day and age! The vacuum-sealed, glass packaging ensures that it's fresh and not contaminated by leaching plastic residues. The powder itself is finely ground, almost fluffy. It has a rich, sulfury taste that some people might find objectionable, but I love it. Aside from being a very potent detoxifier, it's also incredibly nutritious. This brand is a top-quality product all the way around!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

A Noticeable Blood-Thinning Effect!

Posted on Jan 01, 2013

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This product definitely does what it says~ it thins the blood by breaking up fibrin. Presumably in doing so, it also combats inflammation, although I can't say for sure that I've experienced that effect from this product, probably since I don't have any issues of chronic inflammation at this time. I am a physically active, pre-menapausal woman (40's) with no health issues. In an effort to maintain a good state of health, I'm always researching and trying different products to see if they might be of some benefit to me. This one sounded interesting, since it's known that as people age, they often develop blood that is viscous and prone to unhealthy clotting. This viscosity reduces circulation and oxygen to the tissues, and can adversely affect any and all body systems. So in my case I bought this product for it's "anti-aging" benefits. I know it's having its intended blood-thinning effect, since when I take it repeatedly on a daily basis, it thins the "flow" during menses and also extends the number of days of the flow. For this reason, I have found it's best for me to stop taking it around that time of the month. I also notice that after taking it for several days (usually 3-4 capsules on an empty stomach in the morning), I bruise more easily. This is a common occurrence with blood-thinning medications like Coumadin (Warfarin), so I know this product is doing what it's purported to do. I personally could probably get by on just 2 capsules a day and still enjoy the benefits. If you're looking for an effective, all-natural blood thinner, don't hesitate to buy this product~ it definitely works! Combine this with something like fish oil, and you have a very potent, drug-free weapon in the battle against unwanted clots!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

My cats love this!

Posted on Feb 03, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I've used the other Health Force Nutritionals products for myself in the past, and have been very impressed with the formulations, the quality and the packaging (amber glass bottles). I bought this Green Mush for my (finicky!) cats to try, thinking they'd probably turn their noses up at it (like every other healthy treat I've tried to give them!), which was okay, since I figured if they didn't eat it, then I would. Well, I was amazed when they took to it right away! And it seems the more I offer it to them, the more they like it! I just take a 1/4 teaspoon of it and mix it in with a small can of wet food with a few tablespoons of warm filtered or spring water. Of course, all the food turns into a green mush and looks disgusting, but they really do love it! I figure it's a great way to sneak in some good nutrition (enzymes, trace minerals and probiotics) that's undoubtedly missing from the typical processed pet food (which is what they're unfortunately addicted to).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Excellent and good tasting!

Posted on Jan 31, 2012

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is an excellent, high-quality whey protein concentrate (not isolate) from pastured cows. It digests easily and tastes good (not sickening sweet like some other flavored protein powders!). I prefer the vanilla version, which is somewhat sweeter and more flavorful than the chocolate one (haven't tried the other flavors yet), but this one is good too. It works well to maintain my energy levels throughout the day, and speeding recovery after a workout. I always feel better when I make this protein a part of my morning routine.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

High Quality Baobab in Glass Container!

Posted on May 09, 2013

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This powder is fresh and fluffy with a pleasantly tangy taste. Good enough to eat right off the spoon!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Noticing some positive effects

Posted on Feb 26, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Like other reviewers here have reported, this is not a pleasant-tasting powder, nor does it mix well with liquids. However, it does what it's purported to do~ enhance protein synthesis and maintain lean body mass, especially when cutting calories and/or restricting carbs. I take 1-2 teaspoons a day, along with 1-2 scoops (5 grams) of standardized BCAA powder a day. I have definitely noticed some positive effects. Neither powder tastes particularly good, but I have no problem taking it off the spoon, then chasing it with juice, or something like Ola Loa. If taste is a problem, I'd recommend getting the capsules.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

An easy-to-take and effective Magnesium Supplement

Posted on Sep 19, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Indeed, as other customers have commented here, this product is sweet (think Kool-Aid!), thanks to the stevia that's part of this mix. In general I don't care for most stevia-flavored products, but this drink isn't that bad. I've tried a few other brands, but I keep coming back to this one. Since I've tested low in magnesium in the past (very common for most Americans nowadays), I've made this drink a part of my morning routine and I do notice a difference when I don't take it. The recommended serving size is 2 scoops, which confers 700 mg of Magnesium (as magnesium malate), and a good array of supporting synergistic nutrients. As anyone who has taken magnesium supplements in the past may know, 700 mg of magnesium is a fairly hefty dose to take all at once, and may produce the unintended consequence of loose stools. Because of this issue, and because this product tastes so sweet, I've found it's much more practical to use only half the recommended dose (1 scoop). Lately I have been mixing it with warm filtered water (rather than cold or room temperature water) and adding the juice of a fresh-squeezed lime. The lime cuts the sweetness a bit and gives it a pleasant tanginess. If you're taking free-form amino acid supplements of any kind (i.e., BCAA's, arginine, tyrosine, glutamine, etc), which often have to be taken on an empty stomach for full effect, this is a great drink to take them with, since it will help them get absorbed and metabolized.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

The Best Vitamin E on the market!!!

Posted on Jan 01, 2013

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

As another reviewer noted, most Vitamin E on the market today is of dubious quality~ either it is synthetically produced (i.e., not the "natural" form), or it's not "full spectrum" (i.e., it's an "isolate" form like Alpha-Tocopheral, which can be disruptive and unnatural to the body), or it's in some kind of suspension like soybean or safflower oil (read the labels~ even very reputable brands like Carlson and Jarrow use oil suspensions for their Vitamin E!). A.C. Grace's product is PURE VITAMIN E (again, read the label!). They are a supplement company that specializes in producing pure, full-spectrum, natural Vitamin E and ONLY Vitamin E. The deep golden color and thick viscosity of their product is an indication of how concentrated this Vitamin E is. Their product is unsurpassed! I prefer the pump to the capsules, even if it works out to be slightly more expensive per serving. I'd just rather take the product in the purest form possible, without having to ingest a gelatin softgel along with it. I have not had a problem dispensing it as some reviewers have, although it is very thick. Also of note, A.C. Grace's Vitamin E has high levels of Gamma Tocopherol, which is the component of Vitamin E shown to have extraordinary protective effects on the heart. Unfortunately many Vitamin E products nowadays are high in Alpha Tocopherol which competes with and can ultimately deplete the cardio-protective Gamma Tocopherol component. Interestingly, regarding the bad press that Vitamin E received several years ago regarding heart health, it's now theorized that it was the low levels of Gamma Tocopheral that occurred in the body after the study participants were given isolated or high doses of Alpha Tocopherol. The depletion of Gamma Tocopherol in the body did in fact have adverse effects on the heart. That's why it's very important to take full-spectrum Vitamin E, and not just the Alpha Tocopherol form. Don't be fooled by the bad press~ Vitamin E is an essential nutrient to good health and helps combat free radical damage due to lipid peroxidation. It's impossible to get enough of it through diet alone. Just make sure your Vitamin E is the natural, balanced, full-spectrum kind, like A.C. Grace's.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

A gentle fiber supplement with good cleansing herbs

Posted on Oct 10, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

I've been using this product off and on for a little over a year now, not for constipation issues, but rather for occasional gentle cleansing of the digestive tract. Renew Life products impress me as very high quality and well researched. The ingredients in this product (all organic!) are a good synergistic blend of herbs and food fibers that soothes and tones the digestive tract. I find the taste and texture very palatable as far as fiber supplements go, such that I can eat it right off the spoon without any trouble, provided I follow it with a big glass of water. Rather unexpectedly, however, I have found that the fiber combination in this product can be constipating for me, perhaps because I forget to drink additional water throughout the day. In this case, I have found that it helps to take a heaping tablespoon of psyllium husk fiber along with it.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great & effective product!

Posted on Aug 29, 2011

Purchased at iHerb

I take 1-2 tablets about a half hour before going to bed at night. There is a noticeable relaxation effect fairly soon after taking this product. I often stack this with 1000mg of L-Tryptophan and a tablet of B6 (P-5-P) along with some light carbohydrate to help absorption, and the stage is set for a very sound night's sleep. Works every time, and with no morning grogginess!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 14 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives