Reviewer1854340

New to iHerb? Use coupon code UDO759 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 18 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Not for me

Posted on May 22, 2013

12 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I initially wrote a glowing review for Digest Gold, but after having suffered through nine months of sinusitis, asthma and mold allergies, I have completely rewritten it. I recommend that anyone who thinks they might have a mold allergy should take enzymes from natural sources - animals or fruits - rather than from molds. Enzymedica enzymes are derived from molds. Most people are fine with them, but I most certainly was not. Be careful you don't make the same unpleasant, expensive and time consuming mistake that I did. If you're not allergic to molds like aspergillus oryzae, then you will be fine with this product. And not all people with mold allergies have a bad response to mold-derived enzymes. But personally I would never take the risk again. In future I will take pancreatin (animal derived), bromelain and papaya (both fruit derived) enzymes.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Very good so far

Posted on Jun 24, 2013

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I started off very slowly on this product because I was wary of possible die off effects. One cap once a day, then one cap twice a day, then one cap three times a day, then two caps once a day plus another one cap twice a day, etc. Now I'm up to two caps three times daily. Although I felt some side effects on the first two caps such as fatigue and mental fogginess, this only lasted a couple of days. I started on a weekend so that any die off effects would not interfere with my work schedule. So far the SF722 has been great. I have noticed greatly improved breathing and reduced mucus production (somehow my intestinal problems have affected sinuses and breathing) since starting SF722. And craving sweet food has disappeared. I'm also doing my best to support my liver, as another commenter mentioned, by drinking a cup of dandelion coffee (technically it's tea, but it tastes and smells almost exactly like coffee) each day, along with plenty of water. The dandelion has been a great help - I feel immediately better afterward. Plus I'm taking Intestive, acidophilus and digestive enzymes (animal-derived pancreatin, not mold-derived enzymes). So far it all seems to be working well together.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Extremely effective

Posted on Aug 27, 2013

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is a great product. I had been using an equivalent, top of the line Australian acidophilus which boasts 45 billion bacteria and a $45 per 30 capsules price, yet it did virtually nothing compared to the Thorne Research Floramend product. Floramend is the most effective acidophilus I have ever tried. And it contains nothing to trigger allergic responses, which is something I need to be careful of. There is a new craze for fermented probiotics at the moment, but I can't tolerate them. I can, however, tolerate Floramend just fine. I also like that the bacteria are tough enough to handle not being stored in the fridge. It always worries me when I take other acidophilus that needs refrigeration. What is going to happen when I actually swallow them? The human body temperature is 37C (98.6F), enough to kill most fragile acidophilus. But this one survives, which is what you want. I feel better after taking these - my stomach relaxes and I have a pleasant (ie, normal) taste in my mouth. Highly recommended. (I tried the Thorne Research Bacillus Coagulans but didn't handle that very well. Supplements are different for everyone and for every body, I guess).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Contains mold-derived ingredient

Posted on Mar 29, 2014

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is almost a great product except for the fact that it contains Choline Citrate. Any vitamin or mineral that includes the term "citrate" is a derivative of citric acid. Now you might think of citrus fruits when you hear of citric acid, fruits like lemons, oranges and limes. But citric acid is not made from citrus fruits. It is made from "aspergillus niger," otherwise known as "black mold." If you don't believe me, just google "citric acid industrial production" and you will see how it is made. It's not some nice mom in her kitchen squeezing lemons one at a time to make your citric acid - it's huge steel vats of black fungus. So any product that claims to contain citrate and to also be yeast free is not entirely truthful, especially if you're someone who is either sensitive to molds or has a less than perfect immune system. And if your immune system were perfect, you wouldn't be taking supplements in the first place. Unlike some reviewers, I don't care whether you click the Yes button or not. I'm not writing this to get your vote or your money. I'm writing it to help you avoid making the same mistake as me and to encourage Thorne, who usually make great products, to consider removing citrates.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Contains mold-derived ingredient

Posted on Mar 29, 2014

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is almost a great product except for the fact that it contains magnesium citrate laurate as one of the "other ingredients.". Any vitamin or mineral that includes the term "citrate" is a derivative of citric acid. Now you might think of citrus fruits when you hear of citric acid, fruits like lemons, oranges and limes. But citric acid is not made from citrus fruits. It is made from "aspergillus niger," otherwise known as "black mold." If you don't believe me, just google "citric acid industrial production" and you will see how it is made. It's not some nice mom in her kitchen squeezing lemons one at a time to make your citric acid - it's huge steel vats of black fungus. So any product that claims to contain citrate and to also be yeast free is not entirely truthful, especially if you're someone who is either sensitive to molds or has a less than perfect immune system. And if your immune system were perfect, you wouldn't be taking supplements in the first place. Unlike some reviewers, I don't care whether you click the Yes button or not. I'm not writing this to get your vote or your money. I'm writing it to help you avoid making the same mistake as me and to encourage Thorne, who usually make great products, to consider removing citrates.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Allergic response

Posted on May 22, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I tried this product but had bad results because I seemed to have an allergic reaction to something in it - most probably the coating, which is something called "annatto." Of course, if you're not allergic to annatto, this product should be perfectly fine for you. It's just that annatto has a bit of a reputation for causing allergic reactions, which makes you wonder why they used it in a vitamin product which is likely to be used by (some) people with allergies.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Warm hands for the first time in my life!

Posted on Apr 12, 2013

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I started taking Nattokinase because I have suffered from cold hands and cold feet for my entire life (I'm 45 now). This has been worsening with age, to the point where I was getting seriously worried about being cold and fragile in my old age. I've tried other stuff like ginger and cayenne, but they had implications for my digestive system that weren't always good. Nattokinase was gentler on my digestion yet it was also more effective. The first time I tried this product, I took it before bed. The next day I had warm hands that lasted all day and all evening, even though it was during winter. I found that I was sleeping with my arms out of the covers, because I was warmer than usual. Typing on the keyboard is easier, because my fingers are no longer cold. I have found that one capsule per day is quite sufficient for me. It also seems to help me sleep more soundly, which was most unexpected. I don't have any other circulatory problems that I know of, but the difference this nattokinase has made in restoring proper circulation to my hands and feet is impressive.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

bad reaction to mold content

Posted on May 22, 2013

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I initially had very good results with Virastop, along with many other Enzymedica enzyme products. I took it for a few months and everything seemed to go very well. I was able to eat a wider range of foods than usual, my knee joint problems cleared up and I was able to fight off infections that laid others low. However, I started getting migraines when I stopped taking it. These worsened steadily and as they did, my food allergies returned, triggering further migraines. Another two or three months later, the migraines turned into severe sinusitis, with massive postnasal drip and breathing difficulties. This lasted for another three or so months, until I started taking enzymes derived from porcine (pig) and fruit (pineapple and papaya) sources. Enzymedica enzymes (along with many other brands) are cultured from molds - aspergillus oryzae and various other molds. Switching to enzymes NOT made from molds has helped me to overcome my severe sinusitis and breathing difficulties, as well as reducing my allergic oversensitivity to foods and various inhalants such as dust, smoke, pet fur, etc. I started taking Medizym enzymes from iHerb and these were what saved me. Wobenzym enzymes are also mold free, as far as I know. To be fair to Enzymedica, not all people with a mold allergy like me will have an allergic reaction to enzymes derived from mold. Some people with mold allergies will be able to take these enzymes without any problems. However, given the severity of my health problems and their longevity (9 months and counting), I don't think it is worth the risk. Whether it is for fighting viruses, autism, inflammation or whatever, enzymes from non-mold sources work just as well, but without the risks. The only reason I can think to take mold-based enzymes would be if you can't eat pork for religious reasons, or if you're allergic to pork. Humans evolved to eat food, not mold.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Works well

Posted on Aug 30, 2014

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I first tried this about a year ago. Then I didn't notice much difference at all and stopped taking it. But when I tried it again recently (from the original bottle), it worked very rapidly after only a single capsule. From having had a bad taste in my mouth due to various detox symptoms, I now have a normal/pleasant taste in my mouth. Mood is lighter and happier. Mentally I'm much sharper and more creative. Amazing how liver toxicity can hold you back if left untreated. So I guess the takeaway is YMMV - Your Mileage May Vary - because mine certainly did.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Not for me.

Posted on May 22, 2013

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I had high hopes for this product, but it caused such severe stomach cramps, vomiting and diarrhea that I ended up in the hospital emergency room with an IV drip in my arm to fix my dehydration. I only took one capsule! I must be allergic to the enzymes used. A few months later I decided to try this again to see if my system had improved. One capsule produced the start of the same symptoms - diarrhea, stomach cramps and one incident of vomiting. I discovered that drinking large amounts of soy milk could cure the nausea and stomach cramps, but have resolved never to take this again.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

works great

Posted on Apr 12, 2013

Purchased at iHerb

I bought this for my Mom, because I use digestive enzymes myself and thought they might also help her too. She had her gall bladder removed in the 1990's. I didn't realize how this had affected her, but she told me that taking these Super Enzymes now means that the constipation she has suffered for years has now gone. Apparently her bowel movements are regular again. It is great that her quality of life has been improved.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

excellent product

Posted on May 22, 2013

Purchased at iHerb

This is an excellent and affordable product. I started taking it for my sinusitis and asthma problems. It helped reduce my allergic sensitivity and has made it easier for me to breathe. It is cheaper than any alternative available in this country (Australia) and is packed in a more convenient container (vitamin C powder comes in a large sachet in Australia, which is awkward and messy). I noticed that another commenter complained about the lack of sturdiness of the cap/lid on this container, but I have not found that to be a problem. This product also good because it is not calcium ascorbate. I have no desire to take large quantities of calcium, since not only has calcium been recently and scientifically proven to NOT prevent osteoporosis, but it also clogs up your arteries, causes heart disease and affects your joints. Read about Vitamin K2 if you don't believe me.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 18 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives