Reviewer2140768

New to iHerb? Use coupon code REG625 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 67 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next »

Hayfever relief

Posted on Apr 22, 2013

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Having suffered bad hayfever the last couple of days, I had tried vitamin C with only limited benefit. I recalled reading that methionine may help, so I had a cap on an empty stomach at night and started to get relief within 10 minutes. I also slept better than I usually do. This is a well-tolerated product for me and is free of magnesium stearate. Methionine is an essential amino acid (your body cannot synthesise it) that is required for the methylation cycle; hormones such as serotonin, melatonin and dopamine are produced as a result of this cycle. The B vitamins are also essential for methylation, however in my case, supplemental methionine seems very beneficial and I have been taking a multi-vitamin (plus extra methylcobalamin B12 occassionally) for years. As with most things, moderation is key. Excess methionine, particularly in the absence of B vitamins can lead to elevated homocysteine, but methionine deficiency can also compromise the methylation cycle, lead to fatty liver disease plus a range of other health issues. Indeed methionine deficiency can also lead to higher homocysteine; here's a quote from Kilmer McCully, one of the pioneers of homocysteine research: 'Methionine deficiency elevates blood homocysteine concentrations because of decreased synthesis of adenosyl methionine and dysregulation of sulfur amino acid metabolism'.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Useful product

Posted on May 03, 2012

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Apparently bilberry offers a lot of the benefits of blueberries but has some unique differences. Effects noticed after a couple of weeks of consistent use (1 to 2 capsules per day): increased resistance to colds, better adaptation to low-light conditions, almost freakish night vision, increased urination (seems to act as a diuretic). I suspect that the benefits for vision may be less apparent for those deficient in vitamin A or with sight disorders. The product also seems to have some benefit for skin and broken capillaries, though this is rather subjective at this stage of use and maybe wishful thinking on my part.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Good B Complex

Posted on Jan 02, 2012

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Potent B vitamins in reduced form for fast biological activity. I feel very alert after one of these caps in the morning and do not slump in the afternoon. I believe these would be effective for lowering homocysteine, though I have not had my blood levels tested before and after for comparison. Update Dec 2011: Had blood test a couple of weeks ago: homocysteine up from 10.2 (about a year ago) to 12.9. Had previously been taking a multi plus a 1 mg sublingual methylcobalamin every couple of days, so it seems that in my case this product is not a substitute for regular sublingual B12 (despite the inclusion of 'intrinsic factor').

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

B2, Riboflavin

Posted on Jun 07, 2010

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Excellent well priced product. I don't really have vision poblems but find my eyes are more comfortable when using a computer monitor for long periods of time and are less susceptible to glare. It also seems to enhance mental alertness. I've been taking this a few times a week with my morning multivitamin (I don't think it's a good idea taking high dose 'B' vitamins in isolation). Apparently this nutrient can also help lower homocysteine levels - particularly for those with the 'homozygous polymorphism' who are least able to metabolise folic acid.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Magnesium citrate

Posted on Apr 23, 2008

10 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Good form of magnesium, effective and well tolerated. I take 2 to 3 capsules at night which helps with relaxation and improves sleep. Highly recommended if you suffer from cramps.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Good value

Posted on Mar 12, 2009

15 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Good value pure vitamin E with no fillers. I would like it however if the company indicated the amount of tocopherols (other than alpha) in the product.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

NAC

Posted on Mar 25, 2008

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Quite potent (and pungent) form of sulphur. Relieves bronchial congestion & is apparently a liver tonic (however bowel movements may remind you of Rotorua!)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Chrome-vanadium

Posted on May 05, 2008

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Great product for stabilising blood sugar and reducing any cravings for sweets. Strongly recommend for low blood sugar.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Brain stimulant

Posted on Sep 06, 2009

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Enhanced concentration and focus from taking one of these capsules. Apparently it may also reduce age spots on the skin when used consistently.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Good digestive aid

Posted on Apr 12, 2012

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Product works well. In my case I've found that if I have a heavy meal late at night with one of these, what would be my normal digestive discomfort is greatly reduced. It also seems to have a slight laxative effect.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Excellent product

Posted on Jul 18, 2011

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

After taking a couple of capsules on an empty stomach for a couple of days, I noticed a significant reducing of coating on the tongue. Apparently glutamine is great for reducing candida and/or intestinal permeability. I think this is a good product with minimal excipients; the leucine could even be considered a functional excipient.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great Product

Posted on Feb 21, 2010

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Convenient product to take with minimal excipients. Seems beneficial for sleep as well as assisting liver function and skin healing (for minor wound in this case). When researching glycine it appears that it could be useful for conditions where there is a relative deficiency (eg. Fogarty et. al. 2004 determined that asthmatics had a plasma deficiency of glycine relative to other amino acids tested).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 67 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives