July Special - Free International Shipping for orders over $40.00!

Reviewer2186607

New to iHerb? Use coupon code VEP767 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 17 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Nice Product

Posted on Jan 28, 2012

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Works to keep you alert, and make your thinking clearer, but you do have to take this with Vit C & B complex - if you don't - it will not work as well (it turns into serotonin in your intestines and doesn't get all of it through to the bloodstream to make it to the brain to help balance the neurotransmitters there). Will buy 5-HTP product again - not sure if it will be this brand - but also would spread it out over the day - 50mg in the mid morning and 50mg mid evening.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Quitting Coffee - Caffeine - going on 3 days now with no coffee at all! UPDATED

Posted on Jun 18, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Using this product to help quit coffee - love the taste - better than Cafix product and bueno products (both are coffee substitutes) but still - if they ever bring back Postum I'd switch to that in a heartbeat! This does have the rich, dark flavor for me - but there's just nothing that replaces the smell of coffee brewing - if they came up with something that did - and it was caffeine free - I'd buy it! UPDATED: I have been off coffee now (June 2012) for 6 months now! It (Pero) has been my morning drink - and my afternoon, evening and middle of the night drink - it has no caffeine - so I can have it whenever I want! One way I found to make a 'coffee house' style morning beverage with this - I make my Pero - just a little stronger than normal - add a little agave, and using my magic bullet I blend up some organic plain soy milk till its frothy and pour that on top of my coffee. If I want the vanilla flavor - I simply add a little real vanilla - nothing artificial - no 'non-dairy' chemicals, or man made flavors - purely delicious and enjoyable without the chemicals! Takes no more time to make than making a 'regular' cup of coffee adding the non-dairy creamers and sugars etc., yet is so much healthier for you! (If you crave a chocolate flavor in your 'coffee' use powdered carob sprinkled on top of the 'frothy' soymilk. (Or organic, raw cocoa powder.) I still use green tea - which has caffeine in it - but it is much less than coffee and better for you in that form - plus you get the antioxidants with the green tea!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Chocolate with out the additives - helping to quit addictive things

Posted on Jan 28, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

These are great for me since I'm quitting coffee and need the extra 'bitter' taste that coffee used to give me - and also the energy boost. I love dark chocolate and while one friend who tasted these called it 'silage' because of the texture when you chew them up and hold them in your mouth - I think of it as my 'chocolate covered coffee beans' chopped up and ready to eat - without the coffee bean part! You still get the energy, and, for those who have ever quit any 'addictive' thing in their lives before can attest to - you almost find yourself 'needing' something all the time in the beginning - and these little nibs - they suffice for me to have a little pile of them in a dish and to nibble one or two at a time - while I'm working - keeps my mind / mouth occupied so I won't 'snack' on other 'junk food' and gain weight, plus it keeps me focused and helps to 'kill' the sugar cravings. These are bitter and not for those who don't really care for dark chocolate or eating chocolate or any kind of coffee bean - thats what I would liken it to - bitter - but not too bitter and satisfying. (Would be great for those who smoke and are quitting - I would know - I used to smoke as well - and quit cold turkey.) Just wish they weren't sooo expensive - but then again - that helps me keep my 'snacking' in check - as I wouldn't follow the directions on the bag about using a set amount per day for nutritional support. I'm using these as a crutch to get off the caffeine/coffee wagon - and on to healthier living!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great Product - Very Handy

Posted on Jan 28, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

In using this to quit coffee - I am glad to say that this product, in water alone - helped to 'quench' the bitter taste I was looking for in a morning beverage - without using cream or agave - it makes a great substitute for the flavor - however, there's nothing that I've found that comes close to the smell of fresh brewed coffee as a substitute. I did use this in conjunction with Pero - and it works quite well - but still the smell wasn't there. In fact, I'm drinking a cup of this now - 1/4 tsp of cocoa powder (give or take) with 1 tsp of pero - no sweetener or cream - and a few raw cocoa nibs on my desk to munch on - and I'm okay without coffee. 3 Days and counting. I know the 'pain' of having a set back when quitting coffee - so as long as no one brews a pot of coffee in the house while I'm in the early days here - I will be fine with this set up - even if it were to happen that I smelled fresh brewed coffee, the memory of the weeks of sluggishness, nagging headaches and eye twitches that came with my last 'set back' when I accidentally got served 'real' 100% full caffeine coffee - really made an impression on me I won't soon forget - so as long as I have this Cocoa Powder and my Pero - I'm good to go. (I've been a coffee drinker and a 'decaf' mocker for almost 35 years. Its been 1 month since I started quitting (using half caf coffee mixed with alternatives - progressively getting weaker and weaker (adding more alternatives to the coffee and using less coffee) - and now its been actually 3 days since I have had caffeine/coffee) I know that the raw cocoa nibs and the cocoa products do have some caffeine - but the chemicals used in processing coffee are not being consumed anymore - and - some chocolate is good for you - and I don't find that it is that addictive for me - especially in its raw, unsweetened form - that is a safe way to get off coffee for me at least. Good luck to those who are trying to quit!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great Gum

Posted on Jan 28, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

This gum has been a great find. I love to chew gum after a particularly heavy meal - or if I crave a dessert, I chew gum. I had always hated 'sugar free' gum - because of the 'nutrasweet' or other artificial sweeteners used - they messed with me - gave me the shakes or headaches (or perhaps it was just in my mind because I knew they couldn't be good for you). SOOO, I'm so happy to have found this gum - its good for you - and it really does 'pick' me up when I need a boost - I chew just one piece at a time - not two like the bottle says - and the flavor - it lasts and lasts - longer than I want to chew a piece of gum (I had one for like 4 hours once - and the flavor was still there - almost like when I started chewing it.) This gum isn't as 'tough' to chew either - as I shouldn't really be chewing gum now - as I have ground my teeth all my life and my Chiro says that my jaw muscles don't need the extra tension - so I'm pleased with this gum as it doesn't 'make' you chew hard to get the flavor out. I've even given this to people who hate peppermint anything and they like it - they say its like having a fresh breath of cool winter air in your mouth - without having the 'cold teeth' feeling - okay - I just enjoy the non-overpowering peppermint flavor that is real - not 'overpowering made up peppermint' you get in some gums and candies.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great Product - Works great!

Posted on Jul 11, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

We take this at night before bed - does wonders for helping with restful sleep and waking up feeling refreshed. It works so well because of the Vit. B6 & C with it - no need to take extra B6 and C with the 5HTP.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Easy way to take your vitamins!

Posted on Jul 11, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

Have used this before - prefer the Tangerine to this flavor - but it gives an easy way to make sure they get at least SOME form of vitamins in their day. Also works well for 'fighting off' a cold or picking you up when you are feeling run down or need energy.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Awesome product

Posted on Jul 11, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

Love this form of Hawthorne - helps to build immune system - and is wonderful to take an extra one a day when you have a cold or feel one coming on.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

LOVE THIS PRODUCT

Posted on Jul 11, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

This mouthwash is excellent for helping you keep your mouth clean and fresh. No 'harsh' feeling - like you get from the 'commercial' ones like scope, listerine etc. - it has a great minty flavor with a hint of tea tree oil - I like that it is alcohol free and doesn't have a bunch of 'junk' in it - we like to have an extra one on hand just in case. Sure it seems like it costs more - but you don't have to use near as much and it works SOOOOOO much better than those other ones - without the bad ingredients, so its actually cheaper per use in my opinion!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Love this toothpaste/gel!

Posted on Aug 22, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

I use this now instead of another one I was using that was a paste and came in a larger/squattier tube. It also was xylitol sweetened, with tea tree, mint and fluoride free, but it seemed much harsher than this. The taste is nice and light, works well and isn't harsh. I use this with a tea tree mouthwash and it is a great clean feeling - and I know with the xylitol, I'm still fighting germs even after I rinse - because any xylitol left will kill any germs where it is.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great Value

Posted on Aug 22, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

I've not tried this version of Dr. Wood's Castile soap yet - but have tried the lavendar and tea tree versions. I did open this to smell it - to see how strong the Peppermint oil smell is. It is not a strong smell - take that for what you will - I was hoping for a stronger smell and know that I can add my own Peppermint oil to make it stronger if I want. My intent was to use this to make a variety of cleaners for my house - by adding various other essential oils - such as Orange, Grapefruit, Lemon, Rosemary. Those oils added to the peppermint already in this would make great disinfectant properties and refreshing scent for cleaning Kitchen, dining areas, anyplace that needs to be clean enough to eat off of.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Really Like this soap, but...

Posted on Aug 22, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

I use this in place of shampoo, body wash, etc. as well as other uses - but, the scent isn't really that strong and I don't get the same 'tingling' feeling I get from other Tea Tree shampoos - so I would say that this needs more Tea Tree oil in it - and also - it does dry my skin - even though I don't use it directly on my face, normally I just use water - and I'm fine - but when the soap washes off my head in the shower and this runs across my face, after my shower, I find I need to moisturize my face more - because it dries it out. Other than that - I haven't tried it for other cleaning yet - though I intend to use this as a bathroom cleaner with additional oils added as well. I wonder if the Dr. Woods version of the castile soap just doesn't have enough essential oils in it?

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 17 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives