Reviewer2325387

New to iHerb? Use coupon code CAL700 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 22 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Best Value true Pycnogenol. Remember to take this with a little vitamin C

Posted on Jan 29, 2013

73 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

There is some evidence to suggest that OPCs such as grapeseed and Pycnogenol are better absorbed if one takes them with a little vitamin C (e.g. amla powder or acerola, or camu camu, or rosehips etc.), so do consider that when using Pycnogenol. On the value side of things, it makes me laugh that people buy masquelier's pine bark extract in an attempt to save money, but Healthy Origins' Pycnogenol is LOWER cost-per-mg. People just look at the bottle price and don't stop to calculate the maths: Source Naturals, Masquelier's French Pine Bark Extract: 50 mg, 60 Tablets = $22.68 = 3000mg = 0.756 cents per mg Healthy Origins Genuine Pycnogenol: 100mg, 30 capsules = $19.99 = 3000mg = 0.666 cents per mg 100mg, 60 capsules = $32.95 = 6000mg = 0.549 cents per mg I'll keep buying this Healthy Origins genuine Pycnogenol. However, I COMBINE it with a little vitamin C, some Now EGCg, Now 'Mega Potency' grapeseed extract, and Now 240mg (generic) pinebark extract. If you're a big fan of antioxidants, please steer clear of Alpha Lipoic Acid as it is potentially hazardous if one has heavy metals in the body &/or has mercury dental amalgams, since it can carry heavy metals into the brain. People think it's just an anti-oxidant but it isn't. If you want to take an anti-oxidant which (like ALA) is BOTH water-soluble AND fat-soluble, then a safer option would be astaxanthin. Healthy Origins also do very good value astaxanthin.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Very impressed with Antioxidant in terms of bang-for-the-buck

Posted on Oct 02, 2011

33 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

NATURAL antioxidants vary quite wildly in their pricing. Pycnogenol and Enzogenol are at the high end, with red wine extract and green tea being at the lower end, with natural vitamin E and C (e.g. Madre C) somewhere nearby, and grape seed somewhere in the middle, along with the good quality carotenoids. If youre a wholefoods, superfoods etc. kind of person, as I am, youll understand the importance of consuming only NATURAL forms of antioxidant substances (no 1000mg lab-synthesized ascorbic acid pills for me, thankyou very much). You may also come to appreciate how natural antioxidant food substances taste in their fresh state, a perfect example of which is the white pith from citrus fruits and (especially) the white pith from pomegranate fruit. The latter is particularly astringent and bitter - many people do not understand that this is a clue to the level of tannins and/or flavonoids etc. in a substance. These compounds are generated by a plant to protect the contents of whatever lies within the skin, and they also serve a similar protective purpose when eaten by humans. I make a point of consuming the piths and skins of fruits and vegetables, where appropriate, rather than ignorantly consuming only the sweet flesh. If you open an expensive, high-end, pycnogenol capsule and taste the contents, youll see just how tart, astringent and bitter they are. Grapeseed is similar, though not to quite the same extent (you need to consume more grapeseed than you do pycnogenol, to get a similar level of effectiveness). Amla powder is another good example of a tannin-rich, astringent natural substance (though amla is very economical, and is rather acidic). I was very pleasantly surprised, when I opened these NOW Green Tea Extract capsules - they have an excellent kick of bitter astringency which bodes extremely well for their efficacy as an antioxidant. In terms of bang-per-buck, I HIGHLY recommend these NOW Green Tea Extract capsules. Theyre incredible value for their level of potency. On the same basis, I also recommend Indian Amla powder (also known as Hog Plum. Its rich in tannins and very closely related to vitamin C). You can get this as part of Madre Labs premium Madre C (a very nice, if a little pricey, product - MLI-00205), or you can get it on it's own at asian food markets. Also excellent bang-for-the-buck is NOWs 250mg Grape Seed Mega Potency. Do be sure to get the right one (NOW-03274), as NOW vary their formulation with similar grape seed products; some including synthetic ascorbic acid. In my view, any of the above offer greater potency than Doctors Bests popular French Red Wine Extract, which is a nice product at a reasonable price but lacks the same amount of clout for a single capsule dose. To broaden your spectrum of protective substances, also consider Twinlab's good value Citrus Bioflavanoid Caps (TWL-00715), and Doctors Bests excellent value astaxanthin product (DRB-00261). Remember that, with the exception of the astaxanthin, all the above substances are -water-soluble- antioxidants. Astaxanthin is BOTH lipid-soluble and water-soluble. Vitamin E and Ubiquinol are lipid-soluble, only. Thus, they all compliment each other, in getting to differing parts of cells and tissues, and in molecularly 'recycling' one another within the body. One does not need to consume ALL the water-soluble and ALL the lipid-soluble antioxidants each day - the point is to vary them each day, so as to get a broader spectrum of protection, and of course ones diet should be the primary source of protective compounds (check out the nutrients in kale, for example). I do also use Healthy Origins Pycnogenol 100mg (HOG-41372), and its excellent, but if youre on a budget, then a combination of NOWs Green Tea Extract and their Mega Potency Grape Seed 250mg would cover your needs, ideally complimented by a dual-soluble or lipid-soluble antioxidant. Its worthwhile learning how various antioxidants recycle each other within the body, because this helps one maximise the effectiveness of the antioxidants they purchase and consume. For example, vitamin E is recycled by carotenoids, and carotenoids are recycled by vitamin C - when C then becomes exhausted, it is excreted via the kidneys. This also explains why C needs replenishing more frequently than other antioxidants.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

EXCELLENT for gallstones and Obstructed bile ducts. FIVE STARS!!

Posted on Aug 05, 2011

37 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is an interesting product - I have gallstones and some gravel in the common bile duct. For some time now I've been using Whole World Botanicals, 'Royal Break-Stone' product (which is excellent and I thoroughly recommend using it). However, whilst I continue to use the Royal Break-stone product (which is a non-alcoholic chanca piedra extract), I additionally try other products in an effort to accelerate the process of dissolving and expelling my gallstones. Herb Pharm's 'Stone Breaker Compound' is one such additional product which I've tried (mostly because it contains hydrangea, which is a common ingredient in many classic gallstone formulas, and is claimed to have stone-breaking/dissolving abilities of its own). I haven't been using Herb Pharm's 'Stone Breaker Compound' long enough to judge it's stone-BREAKING abilities yet, but one thing I can tell you, after 10 days using this product is that boy-oh-boy does it have the ability to get my gall bladder and (most interestingly and powerfully of all) apparently even the smooth musculature around my common bile duct moving. I realise that might sound a little strange but I can assure you that within only 2 minutes of consuming some Stone Breaker Compound, I can literally feel my body straining to expel the gravel from the lower common bile duct. I had almost given up hope of finding something which could focus so specifically and powerfully on this remote area of the biliary system (I've tried Boldo, Barberry Bark and many others, although have yet to try buckthorn bark). This is an extraordinarily valuable property for a formula to have, particularly in my condition. I've since found that hydrangea tinctures from other companies don't seem to have a similar action to this Herb Pharm compound, so perhaps it's not the hydrangea which is the key ingredient. Either way, I will continue to use both the Whole World Botanicals 'Royal Break-Stone' product AND Herb Pharm's 'Stone Breaker Compound' because my experience has shown me that both formulas are superb for gallstone issues. I recommend both of them to anyone reading this who suffers from gallstone issues (and probably also if you are seeking to treat kidney stones). I'm coming to realise that my biliary issues are going to take a long time to overcome but my case is unusual - it turns out that heavy metals have compromised my hepato-biliary function, so until I've chelated the heavy metals, the liver and gallbladder cannot operate effectively, no matter what herbal products I use, even though the Royal Breakstone, Herb Pharm Stone Breaker, and glycine, taurine and lecithin are helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Bucks the trend...

Posted on Jun 20, 2007

30 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

If you're anything like me, you've probably spent several hundred dollars (if not more) on supplements over the years, only to discover that three-quarters of them appear to make little or no discernable, tangible, difference to your health, despite the claims of the manufacturers. I am very pleased to say that, for me, Biosil is a very notable exception to this trend. This stuff works. I'll say it again: THIS STUFF WORKS! I have close-shaven hair (about 1/8" long)and because of this, it is readily apparent to me when my hair has changed because any difference in stiffness makes it much harder to run my hand over. Whenever I stop using Biosil for a few weeks and then return to it, the difference in strength of my hair is quite startling. I highly recommend this product if you suffer from silicon deficiency (most people do), and I also suggest you look into Kervran's book 'Biological Transmutations', which is hard-going but discusses the concept of transmutation of minerals. While this concept has yet to garner wide-spread acceptance, there is good sense behind it and it points to the possiblity that silicon can be used by the body for many purposes other than those directly pertaining to silicon in its basic form. That Biosil makes silicon so abundantly-absorbable for the body, only adds to its potential.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

So near, yet stumbles, unnecessarily, in the last furlong

Posted on Sep 29, 2011

15 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is one of the best value broad-spectrum antioxidant formulas Ive ever seen (and Ive seen more than most), but for some inexplicable reason, Source Naturals have sullied this otherwise-superb formula with 250mg per tablet of unnatural ascorbic acid isolate. This is totally at odds with the wonderful plethora of natural ingredients theyve so carefully and painstakingly incorporated into this formula. I suspect this formula was formulated by someone who really knows what theyre doing, only to have it scuppered by the marketing department who felt they needed to impress less-savvy customers by adding a bucketful of man-made ascorbic acid which can be -proudly- touted in the product jargon. What a pity. If theyd only remove that deleterious isolate and replace it with a mere 100mg of acerola or camu camu, Id gladly pay a couple of dollars extra per bottle, and buy this formula by the caseload! Would I recommend this formula, in spite of the synthetic ascorbic acid? Well, YES - it is still a fabulous formula and competes with virtually anything else on the market, for value. Its just that it could be even better if theyd cut the nonsense and ditch the ascorbic acid.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Bucks the trend...

Posted on Jun 20, 2007

19 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

If you're anything like me, you've probably spent several hundred dollars (if not more) on supplements over the years, only to discover that three-quarters of them appear to make little or no discernable, tangible, difference to your health, despite the claims of the manufacturers. I am very pleased to say that, for me, Biosil is a very notable exception to this trend. This stuff works. I'll say it again: THIS STUFF WORKS! I have close-shaven hair (about 1/8" long)and because of this, it is readily apparent to me when my hair has changed because any difference in stiffness makes it much harder to run my hand over. Whenever I stop using Biosil for a few weeks and then return to it, the difference in strength of my hair is quite startling. I highly recommend this product if you suffer from silicon deficiency (most people do), and I also suggest you look into Kervran's book 'Biological Transmutations', which is hard-going but discusses the concept of transmutation of minerals. While this concept has yet to garner wide-spread acceptance, there is good sense behind it and it points to the possiblity that silicon can be used by the body for many purposes other than those directly pertaining to silicon in its basic form. That Biosil makes silicon so abundantly-absorbable for the body, only adds to its potential.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Tastes like the beach

Posted on Oct 02, 2011

15 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This stuff is powdered VERY fine, which means that it is quite bioavailable to the body, and would also be easy to sprinkle finely onto meals, but it also means that if you choose to instead consume it straight off a teaspoon, as soon as you put it in your mouth, it immediately becomes a glutinous mass which sticks to the back of your teeth. If you're accustomed to something like dulse flakes, then this may not be to your liking. However, I consume a teaspoon every other night to ensure good intake of iodine and trace minerals, as I'm used to consuming all sorts of superfoods and powdered greens etc., and am not afraid of the taste and consistency. Note that it's best to rotate your intake of sea vegetables, rather than repeatedly consuming just kelp. Other good sea vegatables include dulse and bladderwrack. Be careful with hijiki and wakame - it's best not to eat those too frequently. Google for more info on these.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Not especially convinced...may work for some but not (so far) for me...

Posted on Aug 05, 2011

13 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This product was a disappointment tome because I am yeast-sensitive and I did not realise that the 'Ultra' version of GOL's Primal Defense contains Saccharomyces boulardii. (I worked up to 12 a day, incidentally). If you have healthy gut flora and are simply looking for a probiotic with which to maintain the status quo, then you may like this product. Others (Jordan Rubin himself, for example) require(d) a probiotic that will be potent enough to actually rectify a gut flora imbalance, and in these circumstances (I am one such person), the effectiveness of a probiotic very much depends on WHICH unhealthy bacteria are currently dominating the digestive tract. Thus, one product may work amazingly well for one person, but have little or no significant therapeutic effect on another person's flora imbalance. Where GOL Primal Defense Ultra is concerned, I fit into the latter category - I experienced better results with Ohhira's probiotics. I recommend anyone who has a severe flora imbalance in their digestive tract does not attempt to rectify the situation JUST by purchasing expensive probiotics - I believe they should be considered only an ADJUNCT to consuming certain foods which not only provide abundant acidophilus themselves but ALSO lay the groundwork for commercial probiotic supplements to most effectively work, by correcting PH imbalances in the digestive tract. Jordan's book recommends raw goats milk kefir. In my case, I'm currently lactose intolerant (more than likely due to the flora imbalance I am trying to rectify - talk about a chicken-and-egg situation, huh?!). Therefore, I'm starting to try home-fermented Sauerkraut. I strongly suspect that a couple of weeks of this sauerkraut will allow me to reintroduce commercial probiotic products with vastly-improved effectiveness. Anyone with dysbiosis / gut flora imbalance / inflammatory bowel conditions would be most wise to send a hair sample for heavy metals analysis (eg DDI 'Essential Hair Elements' test) as heavy metals intoxication is often a primary underlying factor in such conditions - I speak from personal experience on this!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

This is the best Chanca Piedra I've found so far.

Posted on Feb 04, 2011

13 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This specific product is really effective! I've noticed that the majority of chanca piedra reviewers here on iHerb seem to be using it for Kidney Stones. (Jin Qian Cao / Gold Coin Grass concentrated 5:1 powder is also very effective for kidney stones, incidentally). However, my need for chanca piedra is for the more challenging purpose of expelling gallstones. I've long been a user of the bulk 1lb powder chanca piedra (also available here on iHerb), but I've recently found that this particular liquid product by Whole World Botanicals is, in spite of being only 4oz, extremely competitive when compared to the results from 1lb of powder. I now definitely favour this Royal Breakstone liquid chanca piedra product and can literally feel it's effects just under my right ribcage, within only minutes of consuming a dose. Therefore, if you're looking for a chanca piedra product for gallstones, I thoroughly recommend WWB's Royal Breakstone as it is one of the few natural herbal products which one can actually FEEL working effectively. I love this product and it has my highest recommendation. I don't say that lightly, either - I've been involved in natural health, herbs, nutrition etc. for several years now. Lastly, please note that if iHerb have run out of stock of this item, you can instead purchase the equivalent product by the same company for kidneystone purposes - why? Because it is absolutely IDENTICAL. I've been told that directly by Whole World Botanicals themselves. ONLY the label differs between the 2 products. They are of the same strength and content; I myself recently purchased the kidneystone version for my gallstones.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

This is good stuff

Posted on Mar 29, 2013

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I've had dulse from many different sources, and Frontier's is the nicest, most palatable, clean, sifted dulse I've ever found. Buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Alzheimer's Patients BEWARE!

Posted on May 13, 2011

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

If your interest is enzymes, then doubtless this book will have something to offer you, although don't expect to be taken on a particularly engaging tour of the world of therapeutic enzymes - this book is rather dry and disjointed. To be fair, it does offer concise explanations on the various sources from which supplemental enzymes tend to be derived (e.g. fungal, plant, animal, bacterial etc.), and this will enable purchasers of enzyme products to make more informed decisions. However, where I take issue with this book is in it's discussion of Alzheimer's disease. The advice given herein is positively DANGEROUS, and I don't use that word lightly, either. The author may well know a lot about enzymes but he clearly does NOT know a sufficient amount about chelation of heavy metals to be offering advice within this book - on p.96 he recommends Alzheimer's patients supplement Alpha-Lipoic Acid, 100mg per dose, minimum 2 doses per day. Following this advice could potentially lead to irreparable neurological impairment! Alpha-Lipoic acid crosses the blood-brain barrier and chelates metals from the brain. However, it is, unfortunately, a 2-way street and if the rest of the body has a higher burden of heavy metals than the brain, then the 'gradient' will lead to metals passing across the blood-brain barrier and INTO the brain, rather than being excreted from the body via the bile/bowel. If any Alzheimer's patients or carers wish to learn more about this, I suggest obtaining works by the author Andrew Hall Cutler. If iHerb continue to stock this book, then, prior to purchase, it should be sold with a disclaimer regarding the above issue, and a similar warning included in the consignment when it is dispatched to the customer.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Excellent product - this really works!

Posted on Aug 05, 2011

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This product took me by surprise - I suffer from bowel inflammation and only tried Boswellia on the off-chance that it might alleviate some of the pain of the inflammation. To my surprise, it works exceedingly well. HOWEVER, a note to many of the reviewers of this product, and also to potential purchasers: inflammatory bowel conditions and some other auto-immune conditions may have heavy metal toxicity as an underlying cause. The likes of mercury can derange immune function and liver detoxification pathways, with many knock-on effects as a consequence. This has certainly proven to be the case with my bowel inflammation issues. Consequently, it may be worth you doing as I did and getting a decent hair elements analysis done. There is a caveat regarding Boswellia in such circumstances of heavy metal intoxication (I'm referring specifically to mercury, here). Boswellia crosses the blood-brain barrier and for some people with mercury intoxication this might be problematic - I've personally found that although Boswellia is fabulous for reducing inflammatory bowel pain, it paradoxically leads to me having terrible headaches and I suspect this may be due to its crossing the blood-brain barrier whilst mercury is present - perhaps it facilitates redistribution of mercury in some way, I'm not certain at this stage. Consequently, I've been forced to discontinue using Boswellia and instead continue with the bowel pain. This isn't a criticism of Bowellia - it works very well for it's intended purpose, it's just that, personally, my mercury intoxication is interacting with it in some way. I am chelating metals from my system with DMSA and ALA, on a 'frequent dosing schedule'. One needs to read carefully how to do this safely, but all these products are conveniently available right here on iHerb!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 22 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives