Reviewer2534376

New to iHerb? Use coupon code ZAJ505 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 31 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 | Next »

Selenium Yeast: Awesome value

Posted on Dec 27, 2008

10 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is the type of selenium Dr Gerhardt Schrauzer PhD recomends when he talks about seleno-methionine (the most bio-available selenium)... yet surprisingly the label doesn't mention seleno-methionine. It's a very nice tasting tablet (yeast/malt taste) plus the yeast makes the selenium very bio-available. This is amazingly good value because it's strong enough to do you some good (200mcg) and there are lots of tablets (180). :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Vanadyl sulfate

Posted on Mar 23, 2009

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This stuff works better than chromium... yet is poorly described in the literature. It's like taking a power pill... yet few diabetics have ever tried it or even heard of it.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Soy Lecithin... not so fine

Posted on Sep 17, 2012

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This product seems a lot more effective than other forms of VitC (although you can increase absorption of plain ascorbic acid to ~70% by reacting it with bicarb and drinking as a liquid). The only thing of concern is the lecithin which appears to be of soy origin. Given the high price of the product why not use egg lecithin? The cost of the ingredient change is tiny... but egg lecithin is much healthier than soy lecithin. Alternatively milk lecithin or even sunflower lecithin (something I have not tried) might be reasonable alternatives. This VitC formulation has had a dramatic effect on everyone I've tried it on. Very good bowel tolerance for most people. This lypospheric VitC formulation currently holds the record for generating the highest VitC concentrations in the blood (~double) using an oral method. Given that it is 8-16x better absorbed than most oral forms it is like taking 8-16x more VitC. Yes the price is higher... but you can take less. It is worth paying more for the greater efficiency. The phospholipids also come up as highly desirable but I suspect egg lecithin would show up even greater benefits (even better phospholipids).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Ubiquinol v's Ubiquinone

Posted on Mar 23, 2009

18 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is the reduced (active) form of Q10... which is more potent than the inactive form. As people get older they have trouble converting the inactive form to the active form... so you don't get much benefit unless you make sure you take the active form. The active form is fairly hard to get and it's usually much more expensive so it's nice to find it here at a reasonable price. Remember you can reduce the dose (compared to the inactive form) and get the same effect.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Makes me feel good

Posted on Sep 17, 2012

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is another one of those products I enjoy taking. Can't quite pin down why though. Suspect it simply enhances toxin removal.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

R-ALA v's RS-ALA

Posted on Jul 28, 2013

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

R-ALA (natural form) gives you more bang for buck than RS-ALA (synthetic). This makes you sharper throughout the day... and sometimes when you're starting your thinking becomes lightening fast. That effect soon wears off... and some people never experience it. Presumably the people with the greatest problems are the ones most likely to experience this effect. Lipoic acid has two sulphur bonds and chelates mercury better than most sulphur containing substances which normally only contain 1 sulphur bond eg. methionine, cysteine, MSM, etc... Alternatives to ALA are DMSA and DMPS but both are synthetic... while ALA is natural to the body. RS-ALA makes me feel unwell if taking it continuously (even at low levels)... while R-ALA does not (even at higher levels)... so I prefer the R-ALA version. Even though it costs more... it seems to do more... so the price difference is worth it. This is a useful product when you know you have a problem to solve (a procrastination breaker?) or have to be sharp for an important meeting. It has a reputation as a nootropic (smart drug). It's a product that is natural to the body and helps your body become healthier by removing heavy metals and other toxins. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Molybdenum... copper antagonist

Posted on Apr 29, 2010

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Hi, Molybdenum, Manganese and Zinc (along with VitC)... are all copper antagonists. Pity that somebody doesn't incorporate a bit of molybdenum into a multi-vitamin... along with some Boron. To date all the multi-vitamins I've looked at don't include all key minerals... and supplementing with various colloidal minerals or natural sea products (also a good source of minerals)... doesn't seem to make much of a difference ie. they don't contain enough minerals to show up in tests: using hair mineral analysis at 6 monthly intervals. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Love this stuff!!!

Posted on Sep 17, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Apart from those times when you haven't got enough greens into you and you feel deficient in K... this works really well if you've had a late night coffee (tea or even chocolate are also stimulants) and can't go to sleep. It seems to excrete the cafeine (or other stimulant) in the urine and you drift off to sleep naturally. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Mop up that toxin

Posted on Sep 17, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Carbons are very good at mopping up all kinds of toxins and adsorbing bacteria. They're a cheap chelation option and are probably under appreciated by doctors (who only use them for overdoses).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

MK4 or Mk7 form?

Posted on Jan 27, 2013

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

The Mk7 form has a much longer half life than the MK4 form. Which form is this? This one doesn't say... although NOW do sell a form that is specifically MK7. Does anyone know? The studies using 100 ug were done with MK7 (K2-7). The studies using 3 mg were done with Mk4 (K2-4). Thus it is very important which one this is. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Works really well

Posted on Sep 17, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is the form of niacin that is slow release (doesn't cause flushing)... but still works. The other form "niacinamide" is slow release but doesn't seem to have the benefits of hexanicotinate. The flushing form of niacin is OK but it is quite uncomfortable when it makes you flush. This goes double if you're in public... as you can look like a fire truck. This form solves that problem while being large enough to do some good. Wish it was a 1g dose: I'm using it to keep my mums blood pressure down. It works as an excellent diuretic... but she had to take 3 a day to optimise the effect. For some reason it's possible to get the flush version of niacin in 1g... but not the no-flush. Nice bit of chemistry... they hooked 6 niacins into an inositol molecule... and they pop off one by one. In the niacinamide they add an amide (-NH2) group... which seems to change the way it works (doesn't show the same benefits). I like this dose... take one just before going to sleep. Only side effect that is annoying is blurry vision. If you take it just before going to sleep blurry vision isn't going to bother you much. Seems to put a damper on hunger really effectively (burn energy better?). I tried larger doses... but at least for me 500mg at night seems to be a sweet spot. Seems to be very effective at lowering homocysteine... but more pleasant than taking folic acid (which also works well at lowering cholesterol). Try this before trying statins? Or try this instead of statins? :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

MethylCobalamin is great but Iherb is a bit short of the other B12 forms

Posted on Sep 16, 2011

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I've been very pleased with the methyl form of B-12. I like it a lot more than the cyano-B12 which always made me feel a bit unwell. Unfortunately the B-complex I got had insufficient B12 to address a deficiency (only 100ug and needs to be 1000ug or better). I added this product recently and can feel the metabolism being stoked. I really wanted to try the adenosyl-B12 form and the hydroxo-B12 (normally injected or applied by nasal spray). The last two forms are particularly useful if you're having a problem with detoxing. I suspect high copper levels have been driving down my B12's or making them unable to work properly... and this is the first time I've been able to test this hypothesis. Iherb has the adenosyl-B12 form... but seems to be out of all the higher doses. They don't have the hydroxo-B12 form which would be nice to try. BTW: The hydroxo-B12 form has an affinity for the cyanide molecule... and is used in the treatment of cyanide poisoning (which explains at least part of it's detox effect).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 31 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 | Next »

}

iHerb® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives