Reviewer2631717

New to iHerb? Use coupon code IRI971 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 152 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next »

NOW's L-Cysteine: No info on its source. Is it from human hair?

Posted on Dec 06, 2013

17 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I bought this as an alternative to NAC for liver detox and support, because it is good to pause or alternate ALL supplements. Now I discovered on Dr. Mercola & Wikipedia that 80% of it is made from hair swept up in chinese barbers. Then from duck feathers and hog hair. It can also be made from fermentation, but is 3X as expensive. Some sites also say it is a brain excitent which eventually burns out the brain if taken in high doses. On NOW's site, they offer no info on their source, but offer the absolute cheapest L-Cysteine. Anyone know of a non- hair source? I give it 3 stars until I know more. Also of concern is the general lack of details re ingredients on their labels. For instance: There are over 4 kinds of vitamin K-4. Menaquinone 4, 7,8 and 11. Only the Menaquinone 7 is of true value for humans. The others are inexpensive or synthetic forms of no true value. Now Foods has a large number of vitamin supplements that avoid telling us exactly what we are getting. And I am getting more suspicious of this company for this evasive strategy. Millie from Canuckland

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Mixed. feelings about these

Posted on Dec 06, 2013

10 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Now Foods makes things that are often wonderfully inexpensive. But I often wonder about the quality. Their other products often leave out precise info, leaving me to conclude that it is often not top quality. But these are soo cheap that I will take them and hope for the best. For instance the label on their Vitamin K: There are over 4 kinds of vitamin K-4. Menaquinone 4, 7,8 and 11. Only the Menaquinone 7 is of true value for humans. The others are inexpensive or synthetic forms of no true value. Now Foods has a large number of vitamin supplements that avoid telling us exactly what we are getting. And I am getting more suspicious of this company for this evasive strategy.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

L-Carnitine - lethal side effect

Posted on Oct 20, 2013

9 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I ordered this, as it is supposed to help burn fat, so that would mean less exercise right? Well what a shock when I saw Dr. Oz's report on it. He had a research doctor and heart specialist on his show that explained in detail how L-Carnitine is changed by the intestines to a substance that clogs arteries and blood vessels and causes strokes and heart attacks. Dr Oz earnestly warned against taking this as a supplement! I ordered 2 of these, one a pill form, but because I opened them, I was told they are not returnable.... my loss.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

New Chapter: What were you thinking? Strontium with Calcium!

Posted on Dec 06, 2013

8 people found the following review helpful

We have several people in our home with extreme osteoporosis, including our 97 year old granny! We have tried to research the best possible calcium supplement. 1. All agree to never take Calcium and Strontium at the same time - wait 2 hours. 2. Take 2 x the amount of magnesium, but never the cheap oxide form. 3. The other minerals (phosphorus, magnesium, etc) are just as important as Calcium to build bones. So why does this company include STRONTIUM AND CALCIUM IN THE SAME PILL? What were they thinking? Millie from Canuckland

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Best L-Carnitine: side effects

Posted on Jul 04, 2013

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I ordered this, as it is supposed to help burn fat, so that would mean less exercise right? Well what a shock when I saw Dr. Oz's report on it. He had a research doctor and heart specialist on his show that explained in detail how L-Carnitine is changed inside the intestines to a substance that clogs arteries and blood vessels and causes strokes and heart attacks. Dr Oz warned intensely against taking this as a supplement! I ordered 2 of these, but because I opened them, I was told they are not returnable.... my loss.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Country Life Bone Solid with 11 mcg of MK7

Posted on Oct 23, 2013

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I am surprised to read in the product description:"vitamins K1, K2 and D3 are added in generous amounts". Country Life emailed me that they actually include ONLY 11mcg of the expensive proven form of Vitamin K2 (MK7) menaquinone-7. MK-7 is vital in getting calcium into the bones instead of between the joints where it will add to arthritis. You need 45mcg to 200mcg per day. K2 menaquinone-7 is the only form of K2 proven by research to build strong flexible bones. Research, especially by a Dr in Holland, shows the other forms of K2 are just not proven to build bones. K1 is extremely cheap and does nothing more than clot blood, while K2-menaquinone-7, being made by fermentation, is the hardest of all to come by, and is very expensive: that's why they only have 11mcg! I also DO NOT appreciate that these have magnesium oxide in them. This is the cheapest, stingiest form of magnesium and is not well absorbed. - This and the stingy amount of MK-7 make me very suspicious of the good intentions of this company. They are a little more expensive than the Now brand Bone Strength - 9.21 cents compared to Now's 7.6 cents. BoneSolid has a lot more Boron. Taking either of these companies' bone builders, you will also need seperate K2 in its MK-7 version. Good news is that Iherb sells other brands that tell you exactly how much K2-menaquinone-7 they have: Drs. Best Calcium Bone Maker has 80mcg of Mk-7, Alive has 100mcg of Mk-7 Garden of Life has 100mcg of Mk-7.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

carnitine: Dr Oz warns against taking it

Posted on Aug 11, 2013

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I watched an episode in which Dr Oz explained, with a heart specialist, that latest research shows that this will change in your intestine into a substance that sticks to your arteries, eventually clogging them causing strokes and heart attack. When I tried to return the bottle, it was refused because it is already open.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Edwards Creamed coconut: careful it's not that creamy

Posted on Apr 04, 2013

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I was soooo looking forward to creamed coconut: the kind you get in India or at the local Indian store. I expected it to be like coconut cream or at least like the milk, but thicker. No it is not. I tried some in a drink and ended up chewing gritty coconut. Sort of like chewing those cheap coconut cookies made up of the cheapest dried shredded coconut. I do feel rather resentful at being cheated. Definitely not a cream, but simply shredded coconut. At least they could have left it in their blender a little longer if they are just going to cheaply blend up a coconut rather than pressing out the dreamy creamy goodness.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Mega Food Vitamins: natural instead of synthetic

Posted on Mar 01, 2014

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

We take these because they are made from whole foods instead of synthetic. I read that non-synthetic vitamins are better even if they have less strength because they are absorbed better. Wish they were less expensive, but sometimes we get them on sale for less than at Iherb. We have changed to these from another brand which was taken over by Proctor&Gamble, a company that makes my favorite shampoo and dish-soap. Update: my doctor says everyone needs at least 25mg of B6, preferably in its bioavailable P-5-P form. Since MegaFoods only has 6mg of B6, I have to top-up with Source Naturals B6 (in its P-5-P form). Wish Mega had a little more B6!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Jarrow selenium has broccoli

Posted on May 31, 2013

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is the best form of selenium: easily absorbed and the least toxic. I like that it has added broccoli to improve absorption. Life Extension, without broccoli, gives you 90 pills for about the same price. I alternate between the 2 brands. Wish Iherb would sell big bottles as it seems a little expensive for a miniscule 60 pills!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Good Multivitamin with a few quirks

Posted on Feb 28, 2014

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This multivitamin by Life Extension is mostly good and affordable. I like that they use good B12 and natural folate instead of folic acid. Also the B6 has some P-5-P in it which is the only bioavailable form of B6 (my doc says to be sure to get at least 25mg of it, but LifeExtension doesn't specify precisely how much of the good stuff is in it. Good that it has Boron! One disappointment is the Magnesium in the form of the cheap unabsorbable magnesium-oxide, which my doc says is poorly absorbed and is actually magnesium rust, better would have been chelated magnesium glysonate. Also K2 is missing, but you can't expect to get it all in a cheap multi. The family will alternate with our expensive MegaFood all natural vitamins.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Country Life Multivitamins: wanted for my hubby, but ......

Posted on Jul 03, 2012

5 people found the following review helpful

Why do you put B12 as cyanocobalamine in your vitamin? This is cyanide. Cyanide is a very intensive poison. Before B12 can be used by your body, it must be changed by YOUR liver to the methylated form, which is methylcobalamine. The effects of ingesting cyanide - in any form - is, at the very least, a loss of energy and damage to the body. Of course, the methylated form of B12 is much more expensive.... Is that the answer? Millir from Canuckland

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 152 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives