Reviewer2710938

New to iHerb? Use coupon code LOW390 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-9 of 9 total

A very useful lo calorie sweetener

Posted on Oct 17, 2006

27 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

This is a GREAT sweetener. It measures like sugar, has almost no calories, has the mouth feel of sugar, doesn’t cause cavities, tastes very similar to sugar, has no aftertaste, and has no bitter or off tastes. When eaten in crystal form, it has a cooling mint-like effect, similar to Xylitol. However, there is no cooling effect when it is dissolved. Unlike sugar, it forms crystals very rapidly. Sugar takes several days to grow large crystals. With Erythritol, you can grow large crystals in an hour or two. I’ve made great rock crystal candy with it in less than 1 hour. I’ve used it to bake cupcakes, make root beer, really smooth ice cream, chocolate milkshakes, and more. My family and I love it. Erythritol is especially good in ice cream where it helps make the ice cream smoother by preventing ice crystals from forming. Erythritol tastes more like sugar when mixed with a little fructose or small amounts of high intensity sweeteners like Lo Han Kuo, Stevia, etc. I find the combination of Erythritol, Stevia, and Lo Han Kuo makes one of the best tasting and most useful all natural lo calorie sweetener mixes. I typically use a mix of 3/4 tsp Erythritol, 1/4 tsp SlimSweet (Lo Han Kuo), and 1/32 tsp SoooLite Pure (Stevia) to replace 1 tsp of sugar in many recipes and it turns out great. Sometimes I mix in a little bit of Fructose which really gives it a rich taste.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great whole Lo Han fruit concentrate

Posted on Nov 02, 2006

24 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

There are very few products like this. This product is basically a whole Lo Han fruit concentrate, not a refined Lo Han sweetener. This product retains all the vitamins, minerals and other beneficial components of the whole fruit as well as a minimum of 7% mogrosides (the natural non-caloric sweeteners found in the Lo Han fruit). Most other refined Lo Han sweeteners are filtered to produce as much mogrosides as possible (usually about 80% mogrosides). With this whole fruit concentrate you get the true flavor of the Lo Han fruit. Refined Lo Han sweeteners tend to taste similar to brown sugar while this whole fruit concentrate tastes more like molasses than brown sugar. It goes very well with coffee, chocolate, etc. Because this is a whole fruit concentrate, it is not as sweet as the other refined Lo Han sweeteners available. If you’re looking for a refined Lo Han sweetener you might consider Lo Han Sweet, SlimSweet, or my favorite: Life Solutions Liquid Lo Han which contains a minimum of 80% mogrosides and no added sweeteners. Don’t stock Lo Han for too long because Lo Han loses its sweetness after several months.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Has many great uses!

Posted on Jan 29, 2008

24 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Peppermint oil has many great uses. Its great diluted as a flavoring agent for deserts and teas, but also has many health benefits. It works well as oil for use in medical vaporizers and humidifiers. Just a few drops are all that’s needed. We’ve used this in our humidifier (added to its special medicine cup) when our daughters have been sick. It helps to relieve congestion and acts as a cough suppressant. As a vapor, its effects are mild and very safe. It’s far safer than giving cold medicine to your children and very effective. I highly recommend using peppermint oil in combination with eucalyptus oil in your humidifier. Eucalyptus oil makes the peppermint oil more effective at treating colds. If you’ve ever looked at the ingredients on many cough drops you’ll see they nearly all contain menthol (peppermint oil contains 50-78% menthol) and eucalyptus oil. These two really go well together. It also works as a nausea suppressant great for treating motion sickness. About 5 drops diluted in a little carrier oil (vegetable oil) is all that’s needed. Note, as with other essential oils, it shouldn’t be ingested undiluted. These are just some of the uses of this oil. There are so many other uses (relieving headaches, diarrhea, spastic colon, stomach pain, etc.). I highly recommend looking into this product.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Makes great tasting chocolate milk!

Posted on Jan 29, 2008

14 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I bought this extract because I was interested in getting a product high in theobromine. This extract is standardized to contain 10% theobromine, which is a lot. In addition to cocoa extract, this product also contains flavorings and is sweetened with stevia (an all natural no calorie sweetener). I love making chocolate milk using only this extract. I use about 5 ml of this extract in an 8 ounce cup of milk. WOW!!!! IT’S SUPER DELICIOUS!!!! You don’t need to add any sweetener. It’s perfect as is. This is the most delicious way of taking theobromine! Theobromine is a mild stimulant. It’s also a vasodilator, making it useful for lowering blood pressure. Theobromine is sometimes used to treat asthma because it relaxes the smooth muscles, including those found in the bronchi. The Imperial College London recently published a study finding its antitussive (cough-reducing) effects are superior to that of codeine, making it a great cough remedy. It has a synergistic effect with caffeine, smoothing out the rough edges of caffeine, producing a clearer state of mental alertness.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

I'm just nuts about kola nut!

Posted on Jan 29, 2008

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I'm just nuts about kola nut! I normally use this extract to make a delicious iced tea with a flavor reminiscent of Coca Cola. I use about 4 ml for 1 12 ounce cup. I add a squirt of little lemon juice, 4 drops of cinnamon extract, and a little sweetener to taste (usually a few packets of NuStevia). This is a great pick me up alternative to coffee. The stimulant effect is very nice, smooth, slightly euphoric, with a mild pleasant tingling sensation felt throughout the body. Aside from their use as a flavoring agent for cola soft drinks, kola nuts are heavily used in Africa for their stimulant and aphrodisiac qualities. Kola nuts are a great alternative to coffee. In addition to caffeine they contain a large amount of theobromine (which coffee doesn’t contain). This and a few other active compounds (theophylline, Kola red, etc.) give kola nuts a unique stimulant effect that is smoother than coffee and mildly euphoric. Kola nut also produces a tingling bodily sensation that is very pleasant with slight aphrodisiac qualities. Pure kola nuts contain up to 3.5 % caffeine and up to 2.5% theobromine as their main active compounds. In contrast, coffee beans contain up to 2.5 % caffeine and no theobromine. Cocoa contains up to 2.7% theobromine and only small amounts of caffeine. Theobromine is a mild stimulant. It’s also a vasodilator, making it useful for lowering blood pressure. Theobromine is sometimes used to treat asthma because it relaxes the smooth muscles, including those found in the bronchi. The Imperial College London recently published a study finding its antitussive (cough-reducing) effects are superior to that of codeine, making it a great cough remedy. It has a synergistic effect with caffeine, smoothing out the rough edges of caffeine, producing a clearer state of mental alertness.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Lactose tastes great but is hard to use

Posted on Sep 29, 2006

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I love the flavor of lactose. Lactose tastes like milk flavored sugar. It goes well with all sorts of milk products. Little kids and toddlers love it. The problem with using lactose is that some people are lactose intolerant. I don’t know anyone who is lactose intolerant, so that is not a problem for me. The other problem is that lactose won’t dissolve in cold liquids making it impossible to use as a table sugar substitute. You need to boil it to get it to dissolve in anything. The sweetness isn’t strong until you dissolve it, so it must be dissolved. To make it easier to use, you can make your own lactose syrup by mixing powder lactose with a little boiling water.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great tasting lo calorie sweetener

Posted on Sep 29, 2006

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I highly recommended this product. Everyone I know who tried it found the flavor and sweetness to be pleasant, with no bitter tones or aftertastes. I’ve tried the Slimsweet packets and the Slimsweet powder. I’m not sure why, but the powder tastes much better. The packets I tasted had larger grains and seemed to have a stronger lo han kuo (momordica grosvenori) flavor. The Slimsweet powder seemed to taste sweeter with less lo han kuo flavor. Slimsweet tastes somewhat similar to brown sugar or honey. It has a full body mouth feel, it lingers in the mouth. Usually the recommended 1/5 tsp will sweeten up a cup of coffee well, but going beyond 1/2 tsp increases the flavor of the lo han kuo without increasing the sweetness much. The sweetening power of lo han kuo seems to plateau at a moderate sweetness level and never becomes intense no matter how much you use. However, like brown sugar or honey, the flavor can become intense if far too much is used. If you need a more intense sweetness, I found adding erythritol (a natural low calorie sweetener which tastes almost exactly like sugar) works best. A very high quality stevia extract (like all natural Sooolite!) will also work, but not as well as erythritol.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great taste and easy to measure

Posted on Sep 16, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

I love this sweetener product. It’s very convenient when you need a powder form of stevia. It’s diluted so it dissolves fast and is easy to measure. It tastes great!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

One of the best liquid stevia sweeteners there is

Posted on Sep 16, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

This stevia is one of the best out there. I use about 5 drops in a cup of strong coffee and it tastes great! There’s no aftertaste or bitterness at all.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-9 of 9 total

}

iHerb® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives