Reviewer2763064

New to iHerb? Use coupon code ZOX027 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 14 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Slowly working for my friend :-)

Posted on Apr 05, 2012

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I bought this for a friend of mine who has been abusing legal, illegal, and prescription drugs for about 10 years. Her main abuses are of alcohol & kronic (a formerly-legal brand of synthetic cannabinoids). She was always tired, sore, suffers severe insomnia, etc. So basically, I figured with all the chemical abuse her body has suffered, her liver is probably not working well and her vitamin/mineral uptake would be very poor. She started taking 1-a-day (too forgetful &uncommitted to take 3 times a day). I pressured her to set an alarm so then she was taking it 2 times a day (morning & night). She didn't notice any effect in the first 2 weeks. Thought maybe she was feeling slightly better in the 3rd week. We decided to combine taking Kroeger's Milk Thistle with "Nature's Plus, Source of Life, Gold Capsules, 90 Veggie Caps". She had never previously felt any better with any multivitamin. By the 5th week she says she absolutely guaranteed she can FEEL the difference; lighter clearer think-better feel stronger and more focused and more energy at work within 1 hour of taking the combination of milk-thistle + Gold-multivitamins. Out of curiosity she tried taking them separately but without the same grand results. So, we're thinking that the milk-thistle is healing her body&liver which is making it possible for her body to "use" or "access" the bounty of health in the Gold Multivitamin tablets. Now she never misses her morning combination dose!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Excellent

Posted on Apr 05, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

I bought these for a friend of mine who abuses legal & illegal drugs and alcohol. She was normally tired all the time, irritable all the time, never wanted to do anything, severe insomnia, foggy mind, etc etc. She tried taking these (6-a-day) for a couple of weeks without noticable results. Then stopped to try taking Kroeger Milk Thistle for a few weeks without noticable results. Then... she tried taking them together. Combining a daily dose of Kroeger Milk Thistle with these Gold multivitamins, she got very clear results which slowly progressed over a few weeks. About 3 weeks later she said within an hour of taking them she could feel her mind sharper, her memory a bit clearer, the fogginess less, more energy, less pain, helping her at work to do her job (apprentice chef in busy hotel). Now she never misses her morning combination dose of Kroeger milk thistle + gold multivitamin. (I was quite amused actually because we bought them to trial together, so I counted out half of the tablets & put them in a separate jar for her, and then stored my half on a high shelf out of her reach. Without asking me if she could have my half, she must have got a chair and climbed up to grab them, because the next time I visited her my bottle was sitting on her kitchen bench half empty! She told me they really really help her, so it was easy for me to just smile and let her have them lol). Needless to say she has ordered more! :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

LOVE IT

Posted on Nov 02, 2011

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Aubrey products are fricken awesome. I hope they make them for the rest of my life! Nothing else is as gentle or as effective on my sensitive combination acne-prone skin. A real Godsend.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Unpalatable: EXTREMELY BITTER & minimal effect

Posted on Feb 19, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I had such high hopes for this powder. Unfortunately I did not feel healthier or more energized from taking this. The only notable difference I felt was I lost my strong cravings for sugar on the days I drank it, which I was grateful for enough to continue forcing myself to drink it. I made a decoction of 6-7 teaspoons suma powder inside a large teabag boiled for 5-10 minutes on stove in 600ml of filtered water, let it cool, then used 1 part decoction (around 1/3 cup) to 2 parts (around 2/3 cup) unsweetened fruit juice with a squeeze of lemon. Any sugar added made the bitter taste more severe. Lemon juice helped soften the extreme bitterness. I tried many variations of injesting the suma powder cold, hot, mixed with all manner of hot&cold liquids and various hot&cold soft foods, but the decoction of the above amounts was the only formulation where I noticed any positive effect. I have over half a bag left and I shall not be using any more. The small bonus is not worth the revolting experience of trying to swallow it, followed by a lingering bitter aftertaste in the mouth with interferes with whatever you wish to eat afterwards. I found chewing plain water-crackers to be the most effective way of dissipating the awful bitter aftertaste. All in all, a disappointing waste of my money.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Excessive RDI% caused nausea & cramping

Posted on Feb 19, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

At first I misread the label and took one level scoop with a glass of water. Having read in reviews it doesn't mix easily, I put some water in a glass first, gradually sprinkled it in letting it fall, then mixed it thoroughly with a mini-whisk, then added more water. Doing it this way I found that nearly all of it mixed in with just a few very tiny bits left clinging to the sides of the glass which I then swished with more water and scraped off with the mini-whisk. The taste was unpleasantly sweet with an aftertaste of bitterness + stevia. Not particularly pleasant, but do-able for the expected health benefits. I felt just slightly ill after ingesting it, and over the following hours I developed nasty cramps in my bowels and nausea. My urine turned neon yellow for about 6 hours after ingesting it, and neon yellow bordering on green by 8 hours later! I felt like I might vomit for 24 hours. I figured I took too much, and gave my body a rest for a few days. The second time I tried having just half a scoop (which I then read was the recommended serving size) in a glass of water. I felt sick again, nausea again, neon-yellow urine again, occasional cramps, and gassy disrupted feces. Another few days break and I tried again with less than half a scoop in a glass of water. No intense reactions this time, though I did still feel sick and my urine was brighter yellow for at least 8 hours. Naturally from my diet/lifestyle, I do not have any severe vitamin deficiencies (minor deficiencies in zinc, iron, vitamin D), so I suppose the quantities contained in this supplement were too excessive to be healthy for my body. Perhaps this intense form of supplementation would be helpful for people with more extensive and severe vitamin/mineral/etc. deficiencies. All in all, not good for me personally, no positive effects noted, have used less than 4 scoops over 3 weeks and wont be using any more, and certainly wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Very chalky mouth texture but mild cardboard-like flavour

Posted on Apr 05, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

MIX-ABILIY: I found this powder mixes very effectively in thin liquids like water and juice (stirring with an ordinary metal spoon). It takes a lot more to get lumps out when mixing it with yogurt or thicker foods. I found a whisk helps a lot (not surprisingly) compared to mixing with a spoon. And if you have a blender (I don't) then I'm confident you'll have no worries with lumps at all and pretty easy cleanup too. TEXTURE: I found the texture to be quite chalky, leaving a fine residue on my tongue & around my mouth, but can be fairly easily washed down with a few swills of any other thin liquid not containing powder (ie. drink the powder-mix drink, then follow up with plain water or juice). I'd almost call the mouth-feel of it sandy or gritty but it really is a much much finer texture... unpleasantly "chalky", but not sticky or enduring. TASTE: quite neutral. A very very bland cardboard-like taste which can be very noticable and unpalatable in flavourless drinks (ie. water) or weakly-flavoured liquids (will overpower vanilla yogurt). The cardboard wood-dust taste with the chalky texture combined made me gag the first time I tried it in water, but solved by mixing with stronger tastes like citrus or berry fruit juice. OVERALL: I highly recommend it as an easy-to-take extremely-potent form of vegetarian protein. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

No libido increase. Shorter fuse to anger.

Posted on Feb 19, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I am 25yo female with normal libido. I was hoping tribulus would be a fun way of increasing feelings of arousal/horniness for fun sex. I also read some users felt more energized and motivated to "get stuff done" while taking tribulus. I was looking forward to either of these effects. For the first few days I took half a tablet per day, no effect. So then I took one tablet per day for a week, no effect. Then 1.5 tablets per day for a few days, and felt a very very faint irritability that I had trouble pinpointing. So I tried 2 tablets, and felt pretty normal though a light background level of irritation, however... as soon as anything happened externally that grated on my nerves (not being able to find my face-wash, tripping on housemates junk, bumping my head, having a housemate tell me they had used something of mine without permission, people evading answering questions I asked, etc) I felt seriously PISSED OFF!!!, I felt SOOO angry!! I was buzzing, adrenaline rushing, fully ready for a physical fight!! I was ready to scream obscenities and rip that f***king b**tards head off!! Which is very VERY unlike me. Normally I'm the calmest, most patient soft-spoken little thing you ever met. So aside from feeling angry over things I would normally just 'let go' of within seconds and forget about (or deal with calmly & methodically & logically), the anger lasted for hours instead of minutes and I had a very difficult time dispelling it and serious difficulty calming down even after going to the basement & letting out my anger on a punching bag in the basement (after 30 mins of this I simply felt physically drained, and no less pissed off than before). After 3 separate days of testing and confirming that taking 2 tribulus pills was causing this effect in me, I tried going back to 1 or 1.5 pills a day for a few weeks with no effect. So now, I take zero tribulus unless I'm predicting a fight or confrontation where I believe I need to feel aggression to give me more of a "spine" to confront and deal with the conflict. All in all, not the effects I was going for & minimally useful for me.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great Value

Posted on Apr 05, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Great value for money. Works well for my dizzy spells & helps get me through foggy gaps between meals. Also I feel a lot better faster drinking Nuun instead of just plain water when I wake up dehydrated in the morning. For me, I guess my issue may also be glucose-related, as I have since discovered a BIG difference between Nuun (sugar-free), and the brand Hydralite (contains glucose). I have found Hydralite much more longer-lasting and faster-acting relief from my dizziness and confusion and fogginess throughout the day. I have trialled adding some ordinary sugar to my Nuun drinks, which helps, but does not compare in efficacy or relief to Hydralite with glucose. I am grateful this product has helped me discover the solution to my dizziness.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Love it!!

Posted on Feb 19, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

Great soap! Very affordable. Doesn't dry out my skin the way most hand soaps do. Mixes and froths well even diluted to very small amounts such as 1:10 or 1:15 of bronner's soap to water. I love it. Love the smell. Love the feel. Love the history and simplicity. Love the environmental consideration. Small bottle will last me many months and I will definitely be purchasing it again! :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

LOVE IT

Posted on Nov 02, 2011

Purchased at iHerb

Aubrey products are fricken awesome. I hope they make them for the rest of my life! Nothing else is as gentle or as effective on my sensitive combination acne-prone skin. A real Godsend.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Love it! :-D 9/10!

Posted on Feb 19, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

I only wish this was also fair trade! I love that its organic, extra-virgin cold-pressed natural coconut oil. It smells GORGEOUS! It tastes DELICIOUS. It's so versatile! I occasionally use it in cooking, or as a tasty butter-alternative on toast. My biggest use of the oil, is mixing 1/2 a Cup 1:1 with 1/2 Cup of bragg's raw organic apple cider vinegar (with 'The Mother') and two tablespoons of bob's red mill soy lecithin granules (as an emulsifier). I powder the granules in a coffee grinder or mortar & pestle, & whisk the 3 ingredients warmed slightly on the stove. When the mixture is cooled it is THE MOST EFFECTIVE solution for rough or dry skin, for solving ingrown hairs & preventing and solving sweat-rash. Its my total solution for all my un-smooth skin problems. It's brilliant! It works to totally fix all my skin problems. I LOVE it!! :-) I've tried other brands but they smell horrible to me, so I will be buying this brand again!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

GRITTY + unpleasant flavour... is the high-fibre worth it?

Posted on Apr 05, 2012

Purchased at iHerb

TASTE: the overriding taste of this is what I refer to as "green". Like ripping some grass out from your backyard lawn & chewing on it. It's that strong "green" taste you find in some varieties of uncooked raw leafy vegetables.. perhaps munching down on raw uncooked kale. It's not pleasant. It's not the kind of pleasant taste you have from mixed lettuce. The taste of Manitoba Harvest Hemp pro fiber is quite a strong taste. I recommend mixing it with foods that also have strong flavors that can help mask it. It will completely overpower & ruin the taste of any lighter or sweet foods like yogurt. I recommend mixing it with savory tastes... maybe in with a strongly-spiced indian curry (eg. beef rogan josh, or the already-green spinach & cream puree with paneer). The taste does linger in the mouth after you finish drinking/eating it so definitely follow up with something that tastes better lol. TEXTURE: Very sandy and gritty. Not a fine or chalky texture at all. You can feel and bite the tiny sandy bits. They do stick a bit around my mouth and to the sides of a glass if I drink it mixed in liquid. MIX-ABILITY: It mixes pretty well with just a spoon, doesn't clump or lump much. A hand whisk or electric blender would solve any lumps easily. OVERALL: I wouldn't buy it again due to the strongly unpleasant taste and persistent grittiness.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 14 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives