July Special - Free International Shipping for orders over $40.00!

Reviewer2961002

New to iHerb? Use coupon code MIR127 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 31 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 | Next »

Works great, but a CAUTIONARY NOTE (second half of review)

Posted on May 21, 2010

25 people found the following review helpful

I am 56 and have multiple symptoms suggesting poor digestion. The fact that I (stupidly?) had my gallbladder removed ten years ago may have added to this by reducing bile availability (*certainly* not eliminating it *entirely* as some people seem to suggest...bile is actually produced by the liver, and a complete lack would be deadly, not just bothersome). Well, I tried this product (bought at a local store intending to replenish at iHerb if satisfied) and all my symptoms improved greatly -- including my residual acid reflux (though losing a lot of weight had already eliminated 75% of that problem)! Plus, I’m presumably absorbing nutrients better, and keeping my intestines “cleaner.” And almost amazingly -- and I’m not sure why -- certain drugs that had lost their effect for me -- such as some pain medicines -- suddenly started working again! BUT HERE’S THE CAUTION: While researching something else I happened to discover that excess bile is considered one of the most likely contributors to damage to the intestinal cell lining, greatly increasing the risk of esophageal, colon, and pancreatic cancer. In fact, increased bile production is postulated as a prime reason that eating lots of meat and saturated fats raises gastrointestinal-tract cancer risk. Just Google on bile carcinogens. The studies have been based primarily on bile produced by the body, but it would seem logical to assume that supplementary bile salts would have the same effect. So I am going to save this product for use with occasional high-fat meals, and try an enzyme formula that doesn’t contain bile for regular use.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Best Magnesium, in Convenient Tabs

Posted on Feb 02, 2012

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

UPDATE: Should have updated this awhile ago. I've been taking this quite awhile and it's an excellent product, but the fact that is buffered means that some of the elemental magnesium is actually from non-chelated magnesium oxide. So it's less of a value than it would appear. So I've downgraded from five stars to four. So nice to find an Albion-sourced Magnesium Glycinate product with 200mg capsules. I take 400mg each night, and don't have to down 4 capsules at once as I did in the past. One thing I CAN'T say is that this -- or any other magnesium product -- makes me go to sleep any easier, as many people report. But that's not why I buy it -- I just want to try to keep my blood levels of this vital electrolyte higher. Also, Glycine has its own benefits for the body.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

A top-notch CoQ10 at a bargain price

Posted on May 21, 2013

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

What an ideal choice for CoQ10! To start with it's made with Kaneka CoQ10 -- the gold standard. And like many other products it is oil-based for better absorption. BUT...while most of the others have ingredients like soybean oil, rice bran oil, or lecithin, this one uses olive oil as the base. And all at a bargain price!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Good for Digestion and Blood Sugar - But Label Dosage Is Way Too High!

Posted on May 25, 2010

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Another great product from NOW -- Aloe Gel in a convenient softgel form. (Avoid oral products containing Aloe Latex, which has potential risks if ingested regularly.) Helps with digestion, reduces acid reflux, and helps smooth out my blood sugar levels. The criticism: I know NOW tends to list rather high dosages for many of their products -- often with good reason -- but in this case the suggested dosage is oddly WAY too high (two softgels three times a day). Doing that is not only unnecessary, it would reduce the product advantages of convenience and low price, not to mention adding a lot of calories!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Part of a great combination for modulating blood sugar

Posted on Jun 19, 2010

6 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

After much experimentation I have found that the combination of one NOW Maitake extract gelcap plus one Solgar Blueberry *Leaf* extract, taken before a meal (ideally 10-15 minutes) pack a punch for me in preventing blood sugar spikes in either direction (ie., high earlier or low later). Especially helpful for higher-carb meals. One Maitake extract gelcap taken alone doesn't accomplish much for me in this regard (though it may certainly have long-term benefits; while one Blueberry Leaf extract gelcap taken alone definitely helps, but not nearly so well as when combined with the NOW Maitake extract. The downsides are that this makes a somewhat expensive herbal combination if taken multiple times a day (though cheaper at iHerb than anywhere else!); and that both extracts also contain whole-herb powder -- which may add to the benefit, but whole-herb powder can sometimes contain a bit of lead or cadmium, even with deservedly reputable brands like these...probably not enough to worry about, but I do like to keep it in mind when significantly increasing whole-herb intake.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Bioavailability... & Lung Benefits (anti-phlegm)?

Posted on Aug 10, 2010

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

The problem with a lot of herbals is that they just aren't absorbed by the body in significant amounts. I have always been skeptical of the systems/agents which claim hugely increased absorption. and Meriva's phytosome system makes a huge claim in that regard. But after switching from a "regular" curcumin to Dr Best Meriva, I noticed that some not-completely-avoidable nasal irritants which have long caused phlegm to build in my lungs are hardly having that effect at all anymore. That's not even why I bought the product, yet it is a welcome surprise because this is a problem that I've tried unsuccessfully to address in other ways, including NAC (N-acetyl-ceisteine) and nasal irrigation. (ENT's were useless.) So I'm happy! As a disclaimer, I've also been adding or increasing some other supplements (for other reasons) which might also conceivably have an impact, including Quercetin (WITHOUT Bromelian or C), hugely-increased Vitamin D (as I build up my lowish blood levels), and an increase to more-than-minimal C & natural E intake (to about 500mg C and 400 IU E), and Chromium Polynicotinate (one of the brands containing ChromeMate -- the proprietary version that seems reliably safe, effective and most importantly consistently seems to test free of carcinogenic hexavalent chromium). But I think it's the Meriva. I have a good feeling about it!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

The RIGHT kind of Chromium.

Posted on Aug 10, 2010

5 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Chromium polynicotinate -- and specifically the trademarked ChromeMate version contained in this and other products bearing their logo -- is the ONLY Chromium I would trust for both effectiveness AND purity. Nice that it’s so economical. I do wish all brands using GTF would take that moniker off the label, as it confuses people into incorrectly thinking GTF denotes a specific type of Chromium.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Looks great based on early results

Posted on Mar 08, 2010

3 people found the following review helpful

First off, I love iHerb and purchased this elsewhere only after it was back-ordered at iHerb for at least a couple days. Glad to see it's back in stock. One of the key reasons I went for the Gaia Cinnamon Bark (besides their good reputation) is because it is standardized for Cinnamaldehydes, and at a generous level. Few brands standardize for Cinnamaldehydes at all, and oddly some brands even tout the fact Cinnamaldehydes have been removed. Anyway, early indications are that this looks significantly better for my blood sugar control than the Nature's Way I had been trying (even though NW is definitely a trustworthy brand). And it seems as if it may be showing some cardiovascular benefit as well!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Raising D Blood Levels Nicely!

Posted on Jul 03, 2010

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Great product, based on actually raising my Vitamin D levels (25-hydroxy). After I bought these I saw the “how much do you need to raise your D” formula by the Vitamin D council and it was clear that 7,000 IU would be more appropriate for me, so I then also bought the similarly-formulated Country-Life 1,000 IU softgel product and take two of those at the same time as one of these. Based on the studies, I try to take my D with a meal every day, especially one containing fat. For reasons I won’t go into, I retested my 25-hydroxy D at one month instead of the intended three months, and my level has already gone up from 20 to 40! Based on previously seeing my levels go *down* after 1 month on 1,000 IU of a dry D product taken at night, I was pleasantly surprised at how well it is working. I can’t say I feel any different (at least not yet). And VERY IMPORTANTLY, I am monitoring very closely for any possible D-induced increase in my serum calcium, as having elevated (or even near-elevated) serum calcium generally confers MUCH more serious health risks than having below-range D. So far so good on that count, though, but since my serum calcium’s in the high-9’s already I need to be careful. Once I’m where I want to be on the D (ideally about 50 or 60), my “dilemma” will be figuring out how much to take ongoing to sustain that level instead of either continuing to increase or dropping back down.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Quality product but don't ignore the BUFFERED qualifier!

Posted on Feb 02, 2012

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I've been buying the 180-cap version of this from iHerb for quite awhile now. It's definitely a quality product, but understand that "buffered" means that it's not 100% chelated magnesium. Instead, the chelated magnesium glycinate is mixed with an unspecified amount of simple magnesium oxide. That probably explains how they're able to fit a full 200mg in a capsule of this size. Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium Glycinate advertises "NOT buffered," but the disadvantages for that one are that it's tablets instead of gelcaps, and that it contains Bioperine (black pepper extract) which I'm wary of.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great Formula for me at ONE per day

Posted on Jun 09, 2010

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

No combination is going to be the EXACT mix desired, and in the exact doses desired, but these come pretty darn close to what I personally want at ONE (not two) per day. Certainly closer than anything else out there, and believe me, I've searched! And while it has lots of good stuff -- including full-dosed B's that happily allow me to do away with my separate B supplement -- it is not one of those scary, indiscriminate "let's mix in everything but the kitchen sink" formulas. Virtually no calcium, but I like to handle that separately, and besides calcium tends to overwhelm other ingredients and make for huge pills. No K, but that's one that deserves a separate supplement, which I am already using. The amount of potassium is small, but you can't get much more than that from a supplement, anyway. There are a couple things in here where I's like to get the amount that's in two caps -- e.g. chomium polynicotinate and lutein (though the amount of lutein in just one pill is still pretty generous), but as I said NOTHING can't match my wished 100%. Anyway, really glad I found this, and hope they don't start "new and improve"-ing it with gimmicks. (I understand they did recently up the D dosage, but that's OK except for someone who has high or very-high-normal serum calcium and thus must be very careful NOT to take D or calcium supplements except under a doctor's supervision. Life Extension commendably includes a warning about this on the bottle.)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Sleep aid that really WORKS for some people

Posted on Sep 22, 2010

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Based on some personal research, I bought this for uses other than anxiety/stress/diet, and it didn't fit the bill. But I offered it to a friend as a last-ditch try for something that might help him sleep through the night. Getting to sleep wasn't his problem (he uses a sleep medicine), but rather length and quality of sleep were the problem, especially since he has been going through a particularly anxious period. I frankly didn't expect the Relora to help him, since I had previously suggested trials of 5HTP, theanine, and magnesium glycinate, and none had helped. Well, surprise! With one Relora at bedtime (along with the med and maybe-unnecessary 5HTP), he says he now sleeps through the night. Waking way too early and then being unable to get back to sleep are no longer a problem. Furthermore, he says his constant bad dreams are now gone as well! Just goes to show that everyone's different, and as a sleep-aid Relora is working wonders for my friend. Worth a try if you're having similar problems.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 31 total

« Previous | 1 2 3 | Next »

}

iHerb® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives