Reviewer3088906

New to iHerb? Use coupon code BID109 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 17 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

Ridiculously good price

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

11 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

SAMe is ludicrously overpriced, but Doctor's Best outcompetes other brands by far. Clinical studies only show a major benefit at high doses (1200 mg/day), but it can be a remarkably effective antidepressant. I heard this lecture by a psychiatrist on alternative medicine in the treatment of mood disorders -- because patients respond to SAMe so rapidly, she said that she often used it during the early stages of SSRI or other anti-depressant therapy to help patients get relief faster. Response times to SAMe are on the order of around 2 weeks vs the 4 weeks usually required for most other ADs. (NOTE: Talk to your doctor or psychiatrist about using SAMe as an adjuvant to antidepressant therapy, and *definitely* if you plan on using SAMe in place of traditional therapy.)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

*AMAZING* for improving memory/recall

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

11 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

In my experience and what I would expect by its mechanism of action (inhibition of acetylcholinesterase), it seems to selectively improve memory without improving mental functioning all that much. The effects are mostly demonstrative; you don't typically feel "high" or feel like your ability to remember things is much better while studying, but you notice later on that your recall is simply better than it normally is. I've found this to be very reliable. It has been used as an experimental treatment for Alzheimer's -- it has the same mechanism of action as the commonly-used drugs tacrine and galantamine. Side effect profile is minimal but dose-related -- expect neck and upper back tension and possibly even a little sedation at higher doses.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

<3

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

8 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Loooove Spry Gum! -- and also how much more reasonably priced it is when you get it in these plastic containers vs the little blister packs. Even non-sugarfree gum is good for your dental health. There's also some interesting research involving it improving memory (improving recall when chewed during studying) -- not sure how much I buy that, but it's interesting nonetheless. NOTE: You really need to chew two pieces at the same time, else the gum tends to fall apart in your mouth. I use this opportunity to mix two different flavors -- mixing spearmint or peppermint with cinnamon is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great price, great product

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

7 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

When I first came to college and was living in the dorms, I had to survive off of dorm food. I typically ate a modest amount of fruits and vegetables at home, but this dropped down to almost nothing. I started consuming spirulina just because I was concerned about my intake of greens. I didn't expect this to happen, but spirulina actually boosted my mood and energy levels (which had started getting pretty low after a couple months of dorm food). I'm not sure whether it did this "on its own" or if I was missing something in my diet, but that response really surprised me. It's not a panacea and not a replacement for eating fruits and vegetables but might be worth trying if, like most people, you don't get enough greens in your diet.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Unique flavor, good price

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Raspberry leaf tea has a distinctive flavor. Most people like it, some love it. I don't know much about it's medicinal uses, but women have traditionally used it to treat menorrhagia/dysmenorrhea,and and in response to a number of obstetric concerns. I couldn't find anything in the little research I did about any estrogenic or anti-estrogenic effects, but what I did find suggests that it probably isn't a major concern. Still, you might want to avoid this if you're male, pre-pubescent, or have other concerns that make you want to avoid phytoestrogens. The price of Now Foods' product is comparable to that made by Alvita Teas and *FAR* better than the Yogi Teas or Traditional Medicinals product. This product or the Alvita Teas product are both good choices.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Recommended dose

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

1000 IU/day is the current recommendation among certain populations. The general consensus is that concerns over Vitamin D toxicity have been overstated, and that individuals living in certain parts of the world (above a certain latitudinal lines) are simply not exposed to enough UV radiation during the winter months to produce a sufficient amount of Vitamin D. Vitamin D behaves like a hormone in the body, regulating calcium metabolism. (Among other things; for example, it has also been found to have some anticarcinogenic properties).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

<3

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

3 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Loooove Spry Gum! -- and also how much more reasonably priced it is when you get it in these plastic containers vs the little blister packs. Even non-sugarfree gum is good for your dental health. There's also some interesting research involving it improving memory (improving recall when chewed during studying) -- not sure how much I buy that, but it's interesting nonetheless. NOTE: You really need to chew two pieces at the same time, else the gum tends to fall apart in your mouth. I use this opportunity to mix two different flavors -- mixing spearmint or peppermint with cinnamon is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Interesting-in-theory, reasonable price

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I don't really have any major inflammatory problems, but it's mechanism of action (5-lipoxygenase inhibition) is unique. Advil (ibuprofen) and Aleve (naproxen) are all COX-1/COX-2 inhibitors. There's some other herbal anti-inflammatory that doesn't have any unique properties (is also a COX-1/COX-2 inhibitor) -- I don't think that taking this would be any more helpful or have fewer side effects than taking ibuprofen. It's pretty inexpensive, so you don't have much to lose. Definitely worth a try if you suffer from any inflammatory condition (e.g. osteoarthritis).

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

The price is right...

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

Don't think I'd be willing to actually pay a lot for it, but it is pretty convenient to have around.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Great added bonus

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

My experience has been that pill splitters only work really well when splitting *hard* pills -- ones that you can't crack in half by hand. I don't use this all the time, but when I need it, it's great to have around.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Price is right, taste is great

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

Taste is fine for daily use -- I add some fat-soluble supps -- ubiquinol, high-gamma-tocopherol vitamin E and idebenone -- to confer a little more protection against oxidation and make dosing on those supps (notably idebenone, which I only have in powder form) more convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Price, price, price

Posted on Feb 02, 2008

Purchased at iHerb

When I think of both Doctor's Best and iHerb, I immediately think "great prices, great products". Neither disappoint with this product. :o)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 17 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerbĀ® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives