Reviewer3281955

New to iHerb? Use coupon code DAS255 for up to $10.00 off your first order.


My Reviews

Items 1-12 of 15 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

You MUST take vit K2 if taking calcium and/or vit D

Posted on Nov 12, 2013

16 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Taking calcium supplements without K2 can improve bone strength, but it will also INCREASE THE RISK OF HEART DISEASE because only some of the calcium is deposited in the bones, where it is needed. Some of it is expelled via urine (which is why mainstream doctors recommend such high daily amounts of it) but the rest--dangerously--is packed around organs, where it does not belong and where it will do you harm. If deposited around the heart, it will increase your risk of heart disease; if deposited around the kidneys, it will increase the risk of kidney stones; if around the gallbladder, the risk of gallstones, etc. So you need to (1) take K2, which will deposit the calcium in your bones, where it belongs; (2) make sure you get enough D3 (from the sun whenever possible, then from supplements at other times), because it works synergistically and it will help your body absorb the calcium you ingest, whether from the diet or from a pill; and (3) reduce any calcium supplements you take, because once you have enough K2 and D3 your body will be able to use any calcium you ingest (instead of peeing it out and/or packing it around vital organs). You should also make sure you get enough magnesium if taking calcium, just don't take the two together because one blocks the absorption of the other. Happy bone health!

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Terrific energiser

Posted on Apr 09, 2013

4 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

My elderly mother uses this when she feels tired. She just sprays it a few times (not necessarily 6, maybe only 3 times) under the tongue then lies down for about 15 min. After that time she feels revitalised and gets up, actively looking for things to do. So it's really effective for her. Compare this with the Pure Advantage brand of the B-12 spray (http://www.iherb.com/Pure-Advantage-B-12-500-mcg-Spray-1-fl-oz/18154): that one sends her to sleep! Which actually is also useful, because it works as a sleep aid, esp. when she's in pain. So same supplement, different brands, totally different effects, equally useful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Very effective

Posted on Oct 28, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I bought this for my elderly mother as a general relaxant and sleeping aid to complement her melatonin spray. It's been so effective that she no longer uses the melatonin! She says the melatonin helped get her to sleep but, when she had to get up at night to go to the toilet, it still took her a while to fall back asleep. With this 5-HTP spray though, she says that it both sends her to sleep and, if she has to get up at night to go to the toilet, sends her back to sleep afterwards. This is from the initial dose before bedtime as she doesn't have to take another dose after a midnight toilet break. And there are no side-effects either, other than a general enhancement of mood :-) The only reason I haven't given this a 5-star rating is because of the faulty mechanism in the spray mechanism itself, which my mother says wastes a great deal of the contents. Which is a problem given that the product is so expensive. My mother doesn't mind paying more for what is an extremely effective product, but she is unhappy about having so much of it go to waste.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Ineffective and gave me cankers/mouth sores

Posted on Nov 02, 2012

2 people found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Initially tasted a bit odd but after the first couple of tabs I got to like the taste, sort of like eating an orange lolly. But they didn't seem to work for me. After an aggravating morning, I drove to the shops in a foul mood furiously sucking one tablet after another. By the time I got home 90 min later, I was still furious. (Yet it took only 1x500mg tab of L-tyrosine together with 1x500mg tab of DL-Phenylalanine, on an empty stomach BTW, for me to calm down within 15 minutes! Sure, I was still angry at the deed, but my mind moved on from that to thinking of constructive solutions to the problem instead of fuming and obsessing over the injustice of it.) Plus, after using them several days in a row, I developed sores on the roof of my mouth. So, sadly, I won't be buying them again.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Effective in combo with DL-Phenylalanine

Posted on Nov 02, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Using Julia Ross's The Mood Cure, I decided to try this together with a 500-mg tablet of DL-Phenylalanine to (1) lift my mood, which tends to be depressive and (2) lift my energy, which is similarly low. I take it once a day with a vit C tablet and a B-complex capsule, within 5 minutes of waking up in the morning. The effect is amazing: energises both my mind and body. For me it's better than any anti-depressant or cups of black coffee, and no side effects. I wouldn't be caught without it! Note: you can take it more often but preferably not after early afternoon because the energising effect is likely to give you insomnia. Once a day seems the perfect amount for me because ironically, when I tried it twice a day, it actually made me feel tired. So more is not necessarily better, although every person needs to find the right dose for themselves.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Effective in combo with L-tyrosine

Posted on Nov 02, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Using Julia Ross's The Mood Cure, I decided to try this together with a 500-mg tablet of L-tyrosine to (1) lift my mood, which tends to be depressive and (2) lift my energy, which is similarly low. I take it once a day with a vit C tablet and a B-complex capsule, within 5 minutes of waking up in the morning. The effect is amazing: energises both my mind and body. For me it's better than any anti-depressant or cups of black coffee, and no side effects. I wouldn't be caught without it! Note: you can take it more often but preferably not after early afternoon because the energising effect is likely to give you insomnia. Once a day seems the perfect amount for me because ironically, when I tried it twice a day, it actually made me feel tired. So more is not necessarily better, although every person needs to find the right dose for themselves. Also, some people who find DL-Phenylalanine gives them headaches/insomnia/anxiety might like to try D-phenylalanine instead.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Cured neck and shoulder-blade pain

Posted on Oct 28, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I bought this for my elderly mother in the hope that it might help the osteoarthritis in her hand. Alas, it hasn't done that but it has cured something else: the burning searing pain she used to get along the back of her neck and shoulder-blades, e.g. when looking down at the sink while washing the dishes or at the counter while preparing a meal. It was so bad she would have to stop and lie down. I don't know what the medical term for this condition is but, if you suffer from it, I'm sure you'll recognise those symptoms! That pain is now completely gone. (We're still working on the osteoarthritis...)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Terrific for gums: cleared root canal infection

Posted on Mar 11, 2013

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

I've been postponing putting a crown over the root canal because, although the nerve has been removed by the root canal procedure and so can't actually feel pain, every so often the gum in that area seems to become infected (red and sore). I actually ordered this product by mistake (thought it was grapeseed extract!) but when the root canal infection began, thought I'd give it a try. 15 drops in water the first night, then 5 drops thoughout the day the next day. Noticed an alleviation of soreness within 12 hours and the infection cleared up in 48 hours. So I recommend it. Of course, it's not a long-term solution to this particular problem, but I'm waiting until dentistry invents a better alternative for root canals other than crowns :-) Meanwhile, I have to stay away from the starches and sugars because they invariably cause these flare-ups.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Relieves pain after a physically arduous day

Posted on Aug 14, 2013

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

The drawback: yes, it smells a bit at first, but the smell doesn't linger. And I wouldn't use it as a moisturiser because it seems to make my hands drier. The benefit: pain relief! After a hard day's work gardening, putting this on my shoulders, arms and legs--areas where I know I'll be sore the next day--at bedtime significantly eliminates muscle soreness the next day. I'm sure it has other benefits but it's worth it for this alone.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Makes you cheerful and energetic

Posted on Oct 28, 2012

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Bought this for my elderly mother in the hopes of easing her osteoarthritis. She takes only one tablet first thing in the morning on an empty stomach, with a vit B complex. No effect yet on the arthritis (she's now starting the SAM-e joint formulation) but it gives her a tremendous energy boost. She says she feels so energetic that she just looks around for things to do. And, when she spends the day working (e.g. in the garden, or out all day socialising, shopping and travelling by public transport), she doesn't have the normal aches and pains that would reduce her physical activity for the following couple of days or so. Instead, she's raring to go again the next day. Plus, she's noticeably sunnier, less anxious and just more positive, whenever I talk to her. It has definitely improved her general outlook on life! The only reason I haven't given this full marks is because it doesn't seem to have helped her arthritis.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Blah

Posted on Jan 21, 2013

1 person found the following review helpful

Purchased at iHerb

Just didn't like the taste of this. Didn't stink of smoke, as others have complained. But it just tasted bland, I guess. Stale too, I think. Bland/stale-tasting fat, yuck! So rather than throw it, out I've used it as a moisturiser. But for eating I like Nutiva, Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (NUT-20005). It has a lovely light fresh coconut fragrance that's perfect for cooking and making smoothies.

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Lovely light fresh coconut fragrance

Posted on Jan 21, 2013

Purchased at iHerb

I originally bought the Jarrow Formulas, Organic Coconut Oil, Expeller Pressed (JRW-16028) and didn't like its smell (sort of stale). So I then tried this one and found the fragrance lovely. This is the one I now use for cooking and making smoothies. Also give it to the dog in his yogurt drink (just a tab or two of plain yogurt mixed with water, plus a tspn of this oil), as its good for him too :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

Report abuse

Items 1-12 of 15 total

« Previous | 1 2 | Next »

}

iHerb® is a registered trademark of iHerb, Inc. Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. and the iHerb.com Trusted Brands. Healthy Rewards. Logo are trademarks of iHerb, Inc.


Disclaimer: Statements made, or products sold through this website, have not been evaluated by the United States Food and Drug Administration.
They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Read more »


Eco Friendly Initiatives