Vegans and vegetarians are at increased risks for L-cysteine deficiencies because as a natural compound it is found primarily in foods like red meats, seafood, poultry, dairy products and others that are not suitable for animal-free diets.
Vegan L-cysteine is available, wholly derived from plant sources, but it is costly, especially when compared to non-vegan products and you would have to read the makers descriptions to discern this. If the label is not specific and does not mention Vegan or plant sources then look for one that does.
This product, which I would recommend to most, states on the label "not manufactured with wheat, gluten, soy, milk, egg, fish, shellfish or tree nut ingredients" - however, red meats and poultry are not mentioned in that statement.
May 7 2019
It’s probably derived from duck feathers as are the vast majority of NAC supplements.
Blue Bonnet & Solgar I believe are vegan .
March 27 2019
I did email NOW and asked if any of their NAC was free from duck feathers.
The reply was that they now have a vegetarian/vegan sourced NAC and it’s stated as such on the bottle!?
I did write back and say that it says the capsule is vegetarian no sign of Vegan source on the bottle.
so like yourself I’m none the wiser.
Time these manufacturers were honest and upfront with their potential customers.
I will not buy Now NAC .
December 8 2017
I don't know.
December 6 2017
The label says it has a cellulose capsule, the stearic acid comes from a vegetable source and that the product is not manufactured with wheat, gluten, soy, milk, egg, fish, shellfish or tree nut ingredients.